如何安装iPhone网络摄像头:最佳安装方式

更新
Cover image for: 如何安装iPhone网络摄像头:最佳安装方式

因此,您正在考虑将手机或平板电脑用作网络摄像头。您可能有电缆。我们希望您有迷彩 。也许您需要一个支架或支架。我几乎买了市场上每种类型的摊位,甚至尝试用我在房子周围的东西建造一些临时摊位。在本指南中,我将介绍哪些可能对您有用,以及原因。

如果您没有时间详细研究这些选项,请参考以下建议:

  • 对于不需要粘贴的台式机和笔记本电脑, 这款价格为19.99美元的柔性臂是我的最佳选择。这是我当前正在使用的支架。
  • 对于希望能够快速频繁地连接和卸下iPhone的台式机用户,磁性贴纸车载支架$ 13.99美元是一个不错的选择。您需要将其粘贴到台式机的背面,还需要在iPhone的背面贴一个磁铁(我建议将其贴在塑料/硅胶套的背面,而不是iPhone本身或皮套的背面,以防止损坏)。
  • 对于经常移动的笔记本电脑用户,我建议使用像这样的三脚架。它的价格约为25美元,可以在任何平面上使用。
  • 预算/省时的选择:一次性咖啡杯

优质的iPhone网络摄像头安装座是什么?

在开始研究各种iPhone支架之前,我已经考虑了我真正想要的东西。按照重要性顺序,iPhone网络摄像头支架应:

  • 具有良好的稳定性。您需要能够像平常通话时一样键入,单击和使用计算机,而iPhone不会摇晃,甚至不会掉落。
  • 让你看起来不错。这里的第一步是使用Camo,它使您可以将iPhone内置的令人难以置信的相机用作网络摄像头。就安装而言,您希望将其放置在计算机屏幕附近。与似乎没有在看着你的人交谈令人不安。您还希望能够获得安装座,使其与您的面部大致平行;太低,通话中的其他人都会凝视您的鼻孔;太高,它将指向您的身体。
  • 让您轻松放入和取出手机。当您在iPhone上使用Camo时,很可能您还希望在其他时间将其用作手机,因此能够轻松放入iPhone并将其删除很重要。
  • 不会导致任何永久问题。您可能不想将磁盘固定在iPhone上,或者将笨拙的车载支架固定在iMac上。
  • 紧凑。当您不将iPhone用作网络摄像头时,您可能不希望在桌面上堆满一块笨拙的塑料。
  • 看起来不像是可怕的眼神。奖励积分,如果看起来不错。

想要在视频通话中看起来更好吗?我们整理了一篇完整的技巧文章,以帮助您在此处最好地使用网络摄像头。

考虑到这一标准,让我们看一下可用于将iPhone变成网络摄像头的各种类型的安装座。

三脚架

经过测试的产品:EVERESTA 42英寸360英寸智能手机三脚架UK £19.54, 相似的美国产品 $ 25.49

Using a tripod behind a 16 inch MacBook Pro.
在16英寸MacBook Pro后面使用三脚架。

三脚架是我决定测试的第一批架子之一。它们具有很大的可变性。您可以调整高度,如果有笔记本电脑和台式机,则可以轻松地将三脚架移动到不同的计算机上;如果您整天在不同的地方接听电话,则可以将其移动到不同的区域。例如,如果您在咖啡馆工作,则三脚架是一个不错的选择,因为它安装起来既快捷又容易:您所需要的只是一个平坦的表面。您也可以独立于计算机移动三脚架,以确保即使您的计算机没有光线照射,网络摄像头也能很好地照明。

在照明方面,如果您的办公桌照明不佳,则可以购买内置环形灯的三脚架,但我发现这些通常是连接到劣质灯环的劣质三脚架,因此您可能会最好不要使用固定的稳定三脚架并使用标准灯,iPhone的闪光灯(您可以使用Camo对其进行控制),或者只是窗户上的自然光(或太阳,如果在室外),改善光线水平。

话虽这么说,三脚架通常又大又笨重。如果桌面空间狭窄,您可能无法牺牲三脚架的空间。此外,虽然您可以将三脚架移动到最佳照明状态,但与使用其他安装座相比,将其靠近显示器要困难一些,这可能会给人以您看向侧面的印象。电话。大多数三脚架都使用抓爪,具体取决于抓握的强度,在将iPhone放入并将其从支架中取出时,它们可能很笨拙。

You can use a tripod to the side of your computer if you don’t have space behind it. It’s more obvious that the camera is off to the side on the iMac than the Macbook
如果计算机后面没有空间,则可以在计算机侧面使用三脚架。与Macbook相比,iMac上的相机更明显偏向侧面

三脚架非常适合只想要一个安装架但又经常切换到其他计算机和笔记本电脑或不同工作区的人。一个好的三脚架价格在25美元左右,虽然不是最便宜的选择,但也不算太贵。

吸盘

经过测试的产品:MPOW仪表板车载电话支架, 英国, 8.99英镑, 相似的美国产品, 10.99美元

除非您将它们粘贴到附近的窗户或计算机的屏幕上,否则它们将无法工作(不,实际上,不要这样做)。请注意,亚马逊上的某些列表暗示它们会坚持其他表面。他们不会!

Suction cup mounts might work for your car, but they’re not going to work on your computer
吸盘支架可能适用于您的汽车,但不适用于您的计算机

贴纸座

经过测试的产品:FLOVEME磁性车载支架US $ 13.99, 英国 £12.16

Using a sticker/magnet mount with the telephoto lens of the iPhone X Plus
在iPhone X Plus的远摄镜头上使用贴纸/磁铁座

直接连接到显示器的任何支架都可以使iPhone网络摄像头接近内置网络摄像头所在的位置,因此可以为通话提供良好的角度。这些类型的安装座的主要变量是它们如何连接到您的计算机和iPhone。在我尝试过的直接安装中,台式机用户最好的选择是上图所示的贴纸/磁铁安装。您可以将其粘贴到计算机的背面,并可以将磁铁添加到便宜的iPhone外壳的背面,以快速连接和卸下iPhone以进行通话。 (请继续阅读,以了解为什么不想将其直接粘贴到iPhone上。)

它们的体积比三脚架小得多,但是如果您打算四处移动,它们可能不适合笔记本电脑使用,因为安装座应保持与计算机的连接,并且它们会阻止笔记本电脑装入机箱中。您可以在每次使用网络摄像头时尝试松开并重新贴装支架,但这会减少粘性,并冒着iPhone和支架掉落并损坏的风险。

磁性支架

测试的产品:

磁铁,它们如何工作?无论如何,它们确实使从网络摄像头支架上安装iPhone或从其中移除iPhone变得非常容易。有些安装座是如此简单,它们由两个磁铁组成。一个用于iPhone的背面,另一个用于显示器或笔记本电脑的背面。您只需将iPhone贴在计算机上,然后在通话结束时将其摘下即可。但是,要获得iPhone网络摄像头的最佳安装座,您将需要的不仅仅是两个磁铁,因为您希望能够调整iPhone的角度。

If you’re going to stick anything on your laptop, a magnet will be less bulky than a car mount, but be aware that they might be difficult to remove.
如果要在笔记本电脑上粘贴任何物品,磁铁的体积将比车载支架小,但请注意,它们可能很难卸下。

这种类型的附件非常易于使用和紧凑,但变化空间很小-一旦将磁铁固定到位,就需要保持网络摄像头。我发现磁铁保持得很好,在笔记本电脑上打字时摆动很小(实际上,使用内置网络摄像头时不会出现更多摆动),但是在使用台式机时可以减少这种情况。您还需要使磁铁粘在iPhone(或iPhone外壳)和计算机上,如果您的想法使您感到恐惧,那么您将需要寻找其他类型的附件。

Mounting your iPhone directly to your laptop didn’t work for me, see this 12” MacBook screen getting pulled down by the weight of the iPhone X Plus.
将iPhone直接安装到笔记本电脑上对我来说不起作用,这是因为12英寸MacBook屏幕因iPhone X Plus的重量而下降。

我将磁铁粘在iPhone的硅胶套上,而不是直接粘在手机或皮套上(因为贴纸可能会损坏皮革,并且我不想冒险在iPhone上做标记),这就是当我卸下了磁铁:

Good thing I didn’t stick it directly to my iPhone! I removed this eventually with a little bit of oil, but it wasn’t fun.
好东西我没有直接将它粘贴到我的iPhone上!我最终用一点油将其去除,但这并不有趣。

我设法使此磁性支架与iMac一起使用。这种安装座的一大缺点是无法向后安装iPhone,因此只能将自拍相机与此支架一起使用。使用此安装座时,您也无法调整iPhone的角度,因此图片稍微偏向一侧。

I had to use the Selfie camera rather than attach it backwards (the left shows the attachment you want) so the quality of the picture was reduced.
我必须使用Selfie相机,而不是将其向后安装(左侧显示所需附件),因此降低了照片质量。

我尝试的第二个磁性安装座要灵活得多。 IMstick手机座由一根磁铁和一根铁线组成,一块金属盘粘在iPhone的背面。

您必须至少在手机或计算机上贴一个磁铁才能使它正常工作,但另一个可以通过电线固定在位。您可以在下面看到如何使用电线将安装座连接到计算机。

It’s a little hard to see in the picture on the left, but I attached the mount to my computer by looping the wires over the front and around the back.
在左侧的图片中很难看到,但是我通过在正面和背面环绕电线来将底座安装到计算机上。

如果您需要灵活性,或者安装时遇到棘手的情况,这是一个很好的选择。它不占用太多空间,虽然安装起来有点麻烦,但是一旦完成,就很容易将手机进出。

我确实感觉我的手机很安全,但是我发现它的晃动比使用贴纸和磁铁的支架晃动的多,所以我更喜欢FLOVEME支架,尽管如果您想稍微移动一下摄像头,您可能会喜欢这一点。

开槽刀架

经过测试的产品:YUYITEK手机支架, 英国 £14.99, 美国 $ 14.99

这些功能可让您将iPhone固定在适当的位置,而不是牢固地握住它。因此,它们很容易将iPhone拿出和拿出,但在您键入时它们会摇摆。我发现,使用此插槽式固定器比使用任何其他固定器更难获得良好的角度,因为使用这些固定器无法轻松调节iPhone,并且无论如何它经常会掉入不同的位置。

Using this slotted holder with the iPhone in landscape and portrait. It takes a bit of maneuvering to get the iPhone at the right angle, and you risk jogging your phone out of the holder as soon as you start typing.
在iPhone上横向和纵向使用此开槽式支架。要使iPhone处于正确的角度,需要进行一些操作,一旦开始打字,您就有将手机从支架中慢跑的风险。

开槽的支架使用非常坚固的夹子固定在计算机上。我可以将其连接到我的iMac,但是鉴于计算机的弧形后部,将其长时间放置在其中可能会导致其意外启动。我什至不想在笔记本电脑上尝试使用该夹子,因为夹子附件太紧,以至于可能会损坏屏幕。

I didn’t try this slotted holder on my laptop, as I felt the clip could cause damage to the screen. Reviewers of this product seemed to have the opposite problem.
我没有在笔记本电脑上尝试过该插槽式支架,因为我觉得夹子可能会损坏屏幕。该产品的审阅者似乎存在相反的问题。

灵活的手臂

经过测试的产品:AUOTO通用侧面安装磁性支架夹, 英国 £17.99, 美国相似产品 $ 18.99

柔性臂同时具有三脚架和汽车支架的特征。您可以将其连接到屏幕,办公桌或任何其他可夹紧的物体(例如显示器支架或花盆)。与三脚架不同,它不占用桌面空间,并且如果将其安装在笔记本电脑或显示器后面,则可以使桌面整洁。柔性臂还比屏幕安装架提供了更多的灵活性,因为您可以左右左右移动臂以找到理想的位置。您甚至可以根据需要弯曲手臂。

Here’s this flexible arm being used with a 16 inch Macbook Pro and an iMac. When used with a laptop, you can get a better angle than the built-in webcam, which is always going to be under your face, rather than parallel to it.
这是与16英寸Macbook Pro和iMac一起使用的柔性臂。与笔记本电脑一起使用时,您可以获得比内置摄像头更好的角度,该摄像头始终会在您的脸下,而不是与其平行。

柔性臂通常使用两个爪子固定,因此没有永久性的贴纸。我发现,我测试过的柔性臂的握柄爪比台式机支架和车载支架更容易将iPhone进出手机。

灵活的手臂非常稳定:输入时图像不颤抖,而且价格也很合理。对我而言,这是迄今为止用于笔记本电脑的最佳安装方式,如果您不想使用磁性贴纸,那么它也是台式机的最佳选择。这些柔性臂的唯一要求是您需要将臂夹紧的东西,因此,如果您有内置书桌,则这种安装架可能对您不起作用。您可以在上方看到将手臂与笔记本电脑一起使用时如何将其固定在桌子的侧面。这是我将其连接到几个台式计算机的方式:

I attached the mount to a computer stand on the left, and directly to the back of a monitor on the right.
我将安装座连接到左侧的计算机支架,然后直接连接至右侧的显示器背面。

mb

经过测试的产品:Zhiyun Smooth 4 3轴手持式云台稳定器, 英国 £89.00, 美国 $ 99.00

I tried out this gimbal with a 16 inch Macbook Pro and an iMac.
我用16英寸Macbook Pro和iMac尝试了此云台

我尝试使用万向节作为网络摄像头,但这是一个不切实际的选择。云台的高度不可调节,因此您可能会因为相机太高或太低而无法适应屏幕(如上图所示,笔记本电脑的工作原理要比台式机好一些,但两者都不一样)是理想的)。是的,万向节可以在握持iPhone时使iPhone稳定,但是,如果您在讲话时不移动摄像头,那么出于摄像头目的,此功能确实没有任何好处。此外,我定期使用的云台会自动关闭,导致iPhone掉落,并且将iPhone X Plus插入云台后仍会触发SOS通话。您还需要在通话前让云台保持充电状态。

如果您已经有了一个云台,并且坚决不想再使用其他技术配件,则可以尝试一下,但是您可能想从一个随意的电话开始,而不是一次重要的会议。

iPhone基座和智能键盘

测试的产品:

  • 苹果照明底座美国 $ 49.00, 英国 ,£49.00
  • 苹果智能键盘开本UK £179.00, 美国 $ 179.00

如果您的iPhone有扩展坞,则可以使用该扩展坞,或者如果您有一个用作支架的手提箱,则可以使用iPad。两者都不会给您一个很好的角度,但是两者都可以。这两个选项也都需要使用自拍相机,除非您找到一种将设备提升到头部高度的方法。

Both of these options might work a little better on a laptop, but there’s no getting around the unflattering angle.
这两个选项在笔记本电脑上可能会更好一些,但是没有任何讨人喜欢的地方。

临时/ DIY

如果您现在需要一个网络摄像头支架而又没有以上条件怎么办?我们做了一些实验,发现最好的临时支架可以和一堆书和一个咖啡杯/纸板箱拼凑在一起:

I made this stand in about 3 minutes by cutting a slot in the top of a coffee cup. You could also use a small cardboard box.
我在大约3分钟的时间内通过切开咖啡杯顶部的缝隙使它立起来。您也可以使用小纸板箱。

它体积庞大,看起来并不好,并且如果您进行大量键入操作,您的iPhone可能会有些摇摆,但这是当今开始将iPhone用作网络摄像头的一种快速简便的解决方案。

有一个更好的临时摊位?找到了更好的坐骑?在下面的评论中让我们知道。

我们能帮你什么吗?

我们的支持团队在这里提供帮助!

我们的办公时间是格林威治标准时间周一至周五上午9点至下午5点。 时间目前是 10:02 PM的 GMT。

我们力争在一个工作日内答复所有垂询。

转到支持部分 › 联系我们 ›
我们的支持团队非常棒

我们可以改进这篇文章吗?

我们喜欢听取用户的意见:为什么不给我们发电子邮件,发表评论或发推文 @reincubate?

© 2008 - 2020 Reincubate Ltd. 保留所有权利。 在英格兰和威尔士注册 #5189175, VAT GB151788978. Reincubate®是注册商标。 隐私政策 & 条款. 我们推荐多因素认证。 在伦敦建立了爱情。

How to mount an iPhone webcam: which mount is best

Cover image for: How to mount an iPhone webcam: which mount is best

So, you're thinking about using your phone or tablet as a webcam. You've probably got a cable. We hope you've got Camo. And maybe you need a mount or a stand. I bought just about every type of stand on the market, and even tried constructing some makeshift ones from things I had around the house. In this guide, I'm going to run through which ones might work for you, and why.

If you don’t have time to look through these options in detail, here are my recommendations:

  • For desktops and laptops with no sticking required, this flexible arm for $19.99 is my top choice. It’s the mount I’m currently using.
  • For desktops users who want to be able to attach and remove their iPhones quickly and frequently, the magnetic sticker car mount for $13.99 is a solid option. You’ll need to stick it to the back of your desktop, and also attach a magnet to the back of your iPhone (I recommend attaching this to the back of a plastic/silicone case, rather than the iPhone itself or a leather case, to prevent damage).
  • For laptop users that move around a lot I recommend using a tripod like this one. It costs about $25 and it can be used on any flat surface.
  • The budget / time-friendly option: a disposable coffee cup.

What makes a good iPhone webcam mount?

Before starting to look into the various iPhone mounts, I had a think about what I was really looking for. In order of importance, an iPhone webcam mount should:

  • Have good stability. You need to be able to type, click, and use your computer as you normally would on calls without your iPhone jiggling around or even falling out of its mount.
  • Make you look good. Step one here is to use Camo, which lets you use the incredible camera built into the iPhone as your webcam. In terms of your mount, you want it to be positioned near your computer screen. It’s disconcerting to talk to someone who doesn’t seem to be looking at you. You also want to be able to get your mount so that it’s roughly parallel to your face; too low and everyone else on the call will be gazing up your nostrils; too high and it will be pointed at your body.
  • Make it easy for you to put your phone in and take it out. As you’re using Camo on your iPhone, in all likelihood you’ll also want to use this as a phone at other times, so being able to put in your iPhone and remove it easily is important.
  • Not result in anything too permanent. You might not want to keep a magnetic disk stuck to your iPhone, or a bulky car mount stuck on your iMac.
  • Be compact. When you’re not using your iPhone as a webcam, you probably don’t want a hulking great piece of plastic cluttering up your desktop.
  • Not look like a hideous eyesore. Bonus points if it looks nice.

Want to look better on your video calls? We’ve put together an article full of tips to help you look your best on your webcam here.

With this criteria in mind, let's take a look at the various types of mounts you can use to turn an iPhone into a webcam.

Tripods

Product tested: EVERESTA 42 Inch 360 flexible Smartphone Tripod UK £19.54, similar US product $25.49

Using a tripod behind a 16 inch MacBook Pro.
Using a tripod behind a 16 inch MacBook Pro.

A tripod was one of the first stands I decided to test. They’ve got great variability; you can adjust the height, and easily move a tripod around to different computers if you’ve got a laptop and a desktop, or different areas if you take calls in different places throughout the day. If you’re working from cafes, for instance, a tripod is a good option, because it’s quick and easy to set up: all you need is a flat surface. You can also move your tripod independent of your computer to make sure you’re well lit on your webcam even if your computer isn’t facing the light.

On the subject of light, you can purchase tripods that come with built in ring lights if your desk is not already well lit, but I’ve found that these are generally low-quality tripods attached to low-quality light rings, so you might be better off getting a regular, stable tripod and using a standard lamp, the flash from your iPhone (which you can control using Camo), or simply the natural light from a window (or the sun, if you’re outside), to improve light levels.

With that said, tripods are generally quite big and bulky. If desk space is tight, you might not be able to sacrifice the space for a tripod. In addition, while you can move your tripod to be in the best light, it’s a little trickier to get it close to your display than when using some other mounts, which can give the impression that you’re looking off to the side on your calls. Most tripods use a grip claw, which, depending on the strength of the grip, can be fiddly when putting your iPhone in and taking it out of its mount.

You can use a tripod to the side of your computer if you don’t have space behind it. It’s more obvious that the camera is off to the side on the iMac than the Macbook
You can use a tripod to the side of your computer if you don’t have space behind it. It’s more obvious that the camera is off to the side on the iMac than the Macbook

Tripods will work well for people who only want one mount, but who switch around to different computers and laptops or different workspaces often. At around $25 for a good tripod, they’re not the cheapest option, but they’re not too expensive, either.

Suction cups

Product tested: MPOW Dashboard Car Phone Mount, UK £8.99, similar US product $10.99

These just won’t work, unless you stick them to a nearby window, or to the screen of your computer (no, really, don’t do this). Beware that some listings on Amazon imply they’ll stick to other surfaces. They won’t!

Suction cup mounts might work for your car, but they’re not going to work on your computer
Suction cup mounts might work for your car, but they’re not going to work on your computer

Sticker mounts

Product tested: FLOVEME Magnetic Car Mount US $13.99, UK £12.16

Using a sticker/magnet mount with the telephoto lens of the iPhone X Plus
Using a sticker/magnet mount with the telephoto lens of the iPhone X Plus

Any mount that attaches directly to your monitor will let you get your iPhone webcam close to where the built in webcam is, so you can get a good angle for your calls. The main variable with these types of mounts is how they attach to your computer and your iPhone. Of the direct mounts I tried, the best option for desktop users was the sticker/magnet mount pictured above. You stick it to the back of your computer and can add the magnet to the back of a cheap iPhone case to quickly attach and remove your iPhone for calls. (Keep reading to see why you don’t want to stick it directly to your iPhone.)

These are much less bulky than tripods, but they’re probably not suitable for laptops if you’re planning to move around, as the mount should remain attached to your computer and they’ll prevent your laptop from fitting in a case. You can try unsticking and resticking your mount each time you use your webcam, but this will reduce the stickiness and risk your iPhone and mount falling off and getting damaged.

Magnetic mounts

Products tested:

  • AUOTO Universal Side Mount Magnetic Bracket Clip, UK £11.99, similar US product $15.99
  • IMstick All-Purpose Phone Mount, UK £20, US $25.25

Magnets, how do they work? However they do, they make it really easy to attach and remove your iPhone from its webcam mount. Some mounts were so simple they consisted of two magnets; one for the back of your iPhone, the other for the back of your monitor or laptop. You just stick your iPhone to your computer, and grab it off when your call ends. To get the best mount for an iPhone webcam, however, you’ll need a little more than just two magnets, because you want to be able to adjust the angle of your iPhone.

If you’re going to stick anything on your laptop, a magnet will be less bulky than a car mount, but be aware that they might be difficult to remove.
If you’re going to stick anything on your laptop, a magnet will be less bulky than a car mount, but be aware that they might be difficult to remove.

This type of attachment does well for ease of use and compactness, but there is very little room for variability - once you’ve stuck your magnets in place, that’s where you need to keep your webcam. I found that the magnets held pretty well, there was a very small amount of wobbling when typing on a laptop (realistically, no more that you’d get when using the built-in webcam), but this is reduced when using a desktop. You’ll also need to keep magnets stuck to your iPhone (or iPhone case) and computer, if the idea fills you with horror then you’ll want to look for a different type of attachment.

Mounting your iPhone directly to your laptop didn’t work for me, see this 12” MacBook screen getting pulled down by the weight of the iPhone X Plus.
Mounting your iPhone directly to your laptop didn’t work for me, see this 12” MacBook screen getting pulled down by the weight of the iPhone X Plus.

I stuck the magnet to a silicone case for the iPhone, rather than directly to the phone or to a leather case (because stickers will probably damage the leather, and I didn’t want to risk marking the iPhone), and here’s what happened when I removed the magnet:

Good thing I didn’t stick it directly to my iPhone! I removed this eventually with a little bit of oil, but it wasn’t fun.
Good thing I didn’t stick it directly to my iPhone! I removed this eventually with a little bit of oil, but it wasn’t fun.

I managed to get this magnetic holder working with an iMac. One big drawback to this mount was that it wasn’t possible to attach the iPhone backwards, so you can only use the selfie camera with this holder. You also can’t adjust the angle of the iPhone when using this mount, so the picture is slightly off to one side.

I had to use the Selfie camera rather than attach it backwards (the left shows the attachment you want) so the quality of the picture was reduced.
I had to use the Selfie camera rather than attach it backwards (the left shows the attachment you want) so the quality of the picture was reduced.

The second magnetic mount I tried was much more flexible. The IMstick phone mount was made up of one magnet attached to a wire, and a metal disk to stick to the back of your iPhone.

You have to stick down at least one magnet for this to work, either on your phone or your computer, but the other can be held in place by the wire. You can see how I attached the mount to my computer using the wire, below.

It’s a little hard to see in the picture on the left, but I attached the mount to my computer by looping the wires over the front and around the back.
It’s a little hard to see in the picture on the left, but I attached the mount to my computer by looping the wires over the front and around the back.

This is a pretty good option if you want flexibility, or you have a tricky mounting situation. It doesn’t take up a lot of space, and while it’s a little fiddly to set the mount up, once you’ve done so it’s easy to take your phone in and out of.

I did feel like my phone was secure, but I noticed it wobble a little more than the mount that used both a stickers and a magnet, so I preferred the FLOVEME mount to this one, though if you want to move your webcam around a bit, you might prefer this one.

Slotted holders

Product tested: YUYITEK Mobile Phone Holder, UK £14.99, US $14.99

These let you rest your iPhone in place, rather than holding it securely. As such, they’re easy to get your iPhone in and out of, but they will wobble when you type. I found it was more difficult to get a good angle when using this slotted holder than with any other mount, as the iPhone couldn’t be adjusted as easily with these mounts, and would often fall into a different position, anyway.

Using this slotted holder with the iPhone in landscape and portrait. It takes a bit of maneuvering to get the iPhone at the right angle, and you risk jogging your phone out of the holder as soon as you start typing.
Using this slotted holder with the iPhone in landscape and portrait. It takes a bit of maneuvering to get the iPhone at the right angle, and you risk jogging your phone out of the holder as soon as you start typing.

The slotted holder attaches to the computer with a very sturdy clip. I was able to attach this to my iMac, but given the curved back of the computer, leaving it there for a long period of time might cause it to ping off unexpectedly. I didn’t even want to try using this clip with my laptop, as the clip attachment is so tight that it felt like it could damage the screen.

I didn’t try this slotted holder on my laptop, as I felt the clip could cause damage to the screen. Reviewers of this product seemed to have the opposite problem.
I didn’t try this slotted holder on my laptop, as I felt the clip could cause damage to the screen. Reviewers of this product seemed to have the opposite problem.

Flexible arms

Product tested: AUOTO Universal Side Mount Magnetic Bracket Clip, UK £17.99, similar US product $18.99

A flexible arm has aspects of both a tripod and a car mount. You can attach it to your screen, your desk or any other object that can be clamped (such as a monitor stand or plant pot). It takes up no desk space, unlike a tripod, and can keep your desk clutter-free if attached behind your laptop or monitor. Flexible arms also offer a little more flexibility than a screen mount, as you can move the arm up and down, side to side to find the perfect position. You can even bend the arm round a corner if you need to.

Here’s this flexible arm being used with a 16 inch Macbook Pro and an iMac. When used with a laptop, you can get a better angle than the built-in webcam, which is always going to be under your face, rather than parallel to it.
Here’s this flexible arm being used with a 16 inch Macbook Pro and an iMac. When used with a laptop, you can get a better angle than the built-in webcam, which is always going to be under your face, rather than parallel to it.

Flexible arms generally attach using two claws, so there are no permanent stickers, and I found the grip claws of the flexible arm I tested to be easier to take my iPhone in and out of than the desktop mounts and car mounts.

The flexible arm was very stable: the picture didn’t judder as I typed, and it was also pretty affordable. For me, this was by far the best mount to use for laptops, and if you don’t want to use a magnetic sticker, it was the best option for desktops, too. The only requirement for these flexible arms is that you have something to clamp the arm to, so if you have a built in desk, this type of mount might not work for you. You can see how I clamped the arm to the side of a desk when using it with a laptop, above. Here’s how I attached it to a couple of desktop computers:

I attached the mount to a computer stand on the left, and directly to the back of a monitor on the right.
I attached the mount to a computer stand on the left, and directly to the back of a monitor on the right.

Gimbals

Product tested: Zhiyun Smooth 4 3-Axis Handheld Gimbal Stabilizer, UK £89.00, US $99.00

I tried out this gimbal with a 16 inch Macbook Pro and an iMac.
I tried out this gimbal with a 16 inch Macbook Pro and an iMac.

I tried using a gimbal as a webcam, but it was a pretty impractical choice. The height of the gimbal isn’t adjustable, so you’ll either end up with your camera too high, or too low for your screen (as the image above shows, this works a little better with a laptop than a desktop, but neither is ideal). Yes, your gimbal will keep your iPhone stabilised while it’s being held, but, provided you're not moving your webcam around while you're talking, there really isn’t any benefit to this feature for webcam purposes. Additionally, the gimbal I used periodically turned itself off, causing the iPhone to drop down, and inserting an iPhone X Plus into the gimbal kept triggering SOS calls. You’d also need to keep your gimbal charged in advance of your calls.

If you’ve already got a gimbal, and you’re adamant that you don’t want yet another tech accessory, then by all means give it a try, but you might want to start with a casual call, rather than an important meeting.

iPhone Docks and Smart Keyboards

Products tested:

  • Apple lighting dock US $49.00, UK, £49.00
  • Apple Smart Keyboard Folio UK £179.00, US $179.00

If you’ve got a docking station for your iPhone you could use that, or you can use an iPad if you have a case that functions as a stand. Neither will give you a very good angle, but both work. You’ll also need to use the selfie camera for both of these options, unless you find a way to raise your device to head level.

Both of these options might work a little better on a laptop, but there’s no getting around the unflattering angle.
Both of these options might work a little better on a laptop, but there’s no getting around the unflattering angle.

Makeshift / DIY

What if you need a webcam stand now and you haven’t got any of the above? We did a little experimenting and found that the perhaps the best makeshift stand can be cobbled together with a stack of books and a coffee cup/cardboard box:

I made this stand in about 3 minutes by cutting a slot in the top of a coffee cup. You could also use a small cardboard box.
I made this stand in about 3 minutes by cutting a slot in the top of a coffee cup. You could also use a small cardboard box.

It’s bulky, it doesn’t look great, and your iPhone might wobble around a bit if you’re doing a lot of typing, but it’s a quick and easy solution to start using your iPhone as a webcam today.

Got a better makeshift stand? Found a better mount? Let us know in the comments below.

How can we help?

Our support team are here to help!

Our office hours are Monday to Friday, 9 AM to 5 PM GMT. The time is currently 4:25 AM GMT.

We aim to reply to all messages within one working day.

Go to support section › Contact support ›
Our awesome support team

Comments (2)

Great article, but an important note about your TL;DR recommended flex arm. The clip that hold your phone is pretty shallow and if you have a case of any substance at all on your phone, you'll struggle to keep it in there. Mine is relatively minimal, but thick enough that if I jiggle my desk a bit, my phone will sometimes come shooting out of it. Taking my case on and off negates a lot of the convenience of the spring-loaded clip in the first place.

Studio Neat's Glif is a bit pricey, but impossible to beat for quality and function and works with any case you could imagine: https://www.studioneat.com/products/glif

I took apart a $5 gooseneck lamp and glued a 1/4" tripod thread to make a Gif-based mount I'm pretty pleased with overall. FWIW.

Thank you! Great tip. 🙂

Another webcam mount: https://www.amazon.com/AboveTEK-Aluminum-Folding-Display-Reception/dp/B074PFVVBH

Thank you!


Can we improve this article?

We love hearing from users: why not drop us an email, leave a comment, or tweet @reincubate?

© 2008 - 2020 Reincubate Ltd. All rights reserved. Registered in England and Wales #5189175, VAT GB151788978. Reincubate and Camo are trademarks. Privacy policy & terms. We recommend 2FA. Built with in London.