如何在视频、在线会议和直播中进行眼神交流

更新
Cover image for: 如何在视频、在线会议和直播中进行眼神交流

眼神交流在交流中的重要性怎么强调都不为过。在许多方面,这是一种贯穿整个对话或相遇的视觉握手,首先传达开放和自信,然后是专注和理解。随着我们越来越多的日常互动发生在网上——让真正的握手成为不可能——眼神交流在社交暗示的等级中只会上升。我们采访了 Vidacademy 的 Judie Russell,她与世界各地的客户合作,帮助他们制作更有效的视频,她认为:

“对我来说,看着你的听众是绝对必要的,”她告诉我们。 “想象一下,你和朋友一起喝咖啡,然后告诉他们一些非常大的新闻。他们在说正确的话;然而,他们并没有在看你,而是在从你的肩膀上看,或者更糟的是从一个完全不同的方向看。很快你就会变得非常不舒服和沮丧,希望互动尽快结束。好吧,这就是当您不注视相机镜头时观众的感受。它可以帮助您建立联系,并确保人们在聆听您时感到舒适,尤其是当您在聆听他们时。”

当然,了解眼神交流的重要性并不会使其更容易在线完成。任何参加过在线会议的人都习惯于看到同事、学生或客户的小方块,眼睛专注地注视着各种不同的方向。即使通过一项又一项的研究让人们认识到在线环境中眼神交流的重要性,但我们大多数人都没有做到这一点。这种情况发生的程度以至于我们在说话或倾听时表现得好像在斜视并不算粗鲁,但这确实意味着那些能够这样做的人将在他们的会议中真正脱颖而出,流或视频。只需采取几个步骤就可以实现大多数人不敢尝试的目标,这具有重要的价值。

在本文中,我们将研究一些实用的方法来提高您在在线会议、视频或流媒体中的眼神交流水平,然后看看那些想要在线玩游戏的人可以使用的一些技术帮助。更进一步。完成后,您将拥有一套工具,可帮助您在在线交流时传达自信、表示专注并激发信任。

镜头接触

改善眼神接触的最直接步骤也许也是最困难的:说话或聆听时直视相机。大多数经验丰富的视频专业人士都能够轻松执行我们所谓的镜头接触,但对于我们大多数人来说,在谈话时看到面孔很重要。我们通常会根据皱眉、微笑、点头和——天哪——翻白眼等暗示来调整我们的语气、节奏和内容,所以如果不看与我们交谈的人,就很难完全进行互动。尽管如此,对于那些有信心和专注力让它发挥作用的人来说,直视镜头是每次都能实现完美眼神交流的最可靠方法。这可能只需要一些练习,您可以考虑在镜头旁边放一些东西——每个只是在便利贴上画一个笑脸——这将有助于提供一些东西,而不是有点反应迟钝的硬件。为获得最佳效果,请确保相机处于或刚好高于视线水平。

对于那些发现实际观察人脸至关重要的人来说,最好的选择是将您使用的相机镜头尽可能靠近对话者的窗口。如果您使用的是内置摄像头,则可以将演示文稿、脚本或会议窗口移至屏幕上尽可能高的位置。对于那些使用手机、无反光镜相机或网络摄像头的人来说,还有更多的余地。使用一个好的鹅颈臂或三脚架,您可以将相机安装在屏幕前面,然后拖动展示您的演示文稿的窗口,使它们正好位于镜头上方或下方(根据我们的经验,将它放在镜头旁边更多很容易打破眼神交流的印象)。检查您的软件是否带有透明模式也是值得的 - Camo 位于 Camo Studio/Advanced 中。这允许您将 Camo 窗口设置为多种不同的透明度强度,并将其直接放在您的 Zoom 通话或演讲笔记上。这将两个重要的参考点定位在一起,尽可能靠近镜头。

如果您使用的是笔记本电脑,屏幕空间会更加宝贵,因此您可能希望找到一个占地面积尽可能小的三脚架(并在某些书籍上抬起笔记本电脑以使所有东西都处于视线水平)。在紧要关头,您甚至可以使用金属衣架或补充一些乐高积木来临时搭建自己的坐骑。那里有很多选择,我们已经为手机测试了很多。

对于有多位参与者的会议,即时重新排列窗口会让您看起来很专心。您可以将其视为相当于转头看会议室中的不同演讲者 - 一旦有人发言,只需将他们的窗口移到相机镜头附近。如果您像我们许多人一样发现自己被自己的形象分心,请尝试隐藏或关闭窗户。

我们建议的最后一个实用步骤 - 如果您有足够的空间,那就是通过在您和屏幕之间增加一点距离来改变您的注视角度。如果您通常坐得离相机很近,那么即使距离镜头很近,所产生的角度也足以打破目光接触的印象。试着向后移动一点——你走得越远,你就越有余地让你的眼睛从镜头移到屏幕的另一部分。当然,如果您使用的是内置麦克风,您也会离良好的音质越来越远,因此您可能需要考虑一些外接麦克风或领夹式麦克风,它们会带来良好的光线和声音。您还需要重新构图,这样您就不会在画面中缩小太多 - Camo 的缩放和构图工具在这里特别有用。

 In this sequence, I'm looking at the same spot on the screen - about two inches below the camera lens - from three different distances. Note how my eyeline moves closer to direct as I move further back. I used Camo's Zoom feature to keep the same framing for my face, while moving my key light - a swing arm lamp - with me each time.
在这个序列中,我从三个不同的距离看屏幕上的同一个点——相机镜头下方约两英寸。请注意,当我向后移动得更远时,我的眼线如何移动得更接近直线。我使用 Camo 的缩放功能为我的脸保持相同的取景,同时每次移动我的主灯 - 摇臂灯 - 。

当然,并不是每个人都有时间练习直视镜头、在会议期间重新调整窗口所需的备用焦点,或者留出空间来扩大眼睛和相机之间的距离。对于他们以及那些经常在使用视频时阅读演示文稿或脚本的人来说,有几种不同的技术解决方案可用。

提词器

测试产品:

Andoer 通用提词器英国75 英镑 100 美元

提词器 Premium+免费

For those who to do a lot of presenting, and are more interested in reading from notes or a script rather than seeing your audience, there’s the classic teleprompter - also known as an autocue, which now comes in a range of sizes and can be readily used with any device running a teleprompter app. They’re not just for newsreaders and politicians - with the help of simple angled two-way mirror, compact teleprompters can project a script or presentation from a tablet or even a smartphone directly in front of your lens, allowing you to channel your inner Cronkite and keep that important eye contact as you talk. You’ll need to run supplemental software on your tablet or phone - an app that reverses your text for mirroring and then scrolls it at a comfortable pace (we used the simple and free Teleprompter app, but there are many more out there, including the web-based, voice-controlled Speakflow. Once you have the hardware and software you need, though, setting up is surprisingly simple, and the results are striking.

If you’d rather not bring more hardware into your setup, running a teleprompter app directly on your computer screen can still be useful, since this can keep text moving close to the lens, giving you one less variable to worry about while presenting. We’ve found good success placing Camo in transparency mode over ours, available in both computer and phone versions.

数字解决方案

最后,如果您不介意将脚趾伸入不可思议的地方,可以使用一些软件解决方案,以数字方式将您的视线转向相机。 FaceTime 的眼神接触功能已在装有 iOS 14 的 iPhone 上推出,并且默认启用,NVIDIA 的人员在 1 月份推出了 Broadcast 1.4 的眼神接触功能。这些功能中的每一个都或多或少地做着相同的事情:跟踪你的眼球运动,然后当你从相机镜头上移开视线时,以数字方式覆盖稳定的凝视——把它看作是高科技等同于将乒乓球切成两半,涂鸦每个上都有小黑点,然后将它们放在你的眼睛上。

如果您对身体部位的实时深度伪造没有任何疑虑,我们发现 FaceTime 和 NVIDIA 功能在特定角度范围内相当有效,尽管我们确实注意到我们的眼睛大小和形状发生了一些小变化. FaceTime 效果 - 将眼睛稍微抬高,让用户看起来好像在直视 iPhone 的自拍镜头 - 几乎察觉不到,但我们确实注意到当它被激活并且说话的人直视手机摄像头时,它给人的印象是他们正在看着我们头顶上方的一个点。另一方面,NVIDIA 的效果更强大,也更引人注目。当我们将眼睛稍微向左或向右移动时,会保持直接注视,也许只是轻微的闪烁。然而,当我们看得更远时,数字校正有时会花费一些时间才能明显地将眼睛拖回前方。我们期待将这些功能与微软自己的眼神交流功能进行比较,后者随 Windows 11 一起推出,用于配备 ARM 芯片的计算机。

当然,有良好的眼神交流,然后是不自然的凝视,这些特征仍然需要改进才能找到一个结束的地方和另一个开始的地方。然而,眼神交流技术领域正在快速发展,所以请稍后回来查看我们在我们的使命中尝试了哪些新技术,以帮助您通过更好的视频脱颖而出(如果我们在日本或新加坡,我们会肯定会进入一个全尺寸的虚拟门户网站)。与此同时,如果您发现这些选项中的任何一个或多个选项对您有用,或者您发现了您认为我们应该尝试的不同解决方案,请在下面的评论中告诉我们。

我们能帮你什么吗?

我们的支持团队在这里提供帮助!

我们的办公时间是格林威治标准时间周一至周五上午9点至下午5点。 时间目前是 1:14 PM的 GMT。

我们力争在一个工作日内答复所有垂询。

我们的支持团队非常棒

我们可以改进这篇文章吗?

我们喜欢听取用户的意见:为什么不给我们发电子邮件,发表评论或发推文 @reincubate?

© 2008 - 2024 Reincubate Ltd. 保留所有权利。 在英格兰和威尔士注册 #5189175, VAT GB151788978. Reincubate®和Camo®是注册商标。 隐私政策 & 条款.

How to make eye contact in videos, online meetings and streams

Updated
Cover image for: How to make eye contact in videos, online meetings and streams

It’s hard to overstate the importance of eye contact in communication. In many ways, it’s a visual handshake that lasts throughout a conversation or encounter, first conveying openness and confidence, and then attentiveness and comprehension. And with more and more of our daily interactions taking place online - making actual handshakes out of the question - eye contact has only risen in the hierarchy of social cues. We asked Judie Russell of Vidacademy, who works with clients around the world to help them create more effective video, for her take:

“To me, looking at your audience is an absolute necessity,” she told us. “Imagine you meet up with a friend for a coffee and you’re telling them some really big news. They're saying the right things back; however, they’re not looking at you and instead, they’re looking over your shoulder or worse in a totally different direction. Soon you become super uncomfortable and frustrated, and wish the interaction would end as soon as possible. Well, that’s what it’s like for your audience when you’re not looking into the lens of your camera. It helps you connect, and ensures that people feel comfortable when listening to you and especially when you’re listening to them.”

Of course, knowing how important eye contact is doesn’t make it any easier to accomplish online. Anyone who’s taken part in an online meeting is accustomed to seeing the little squares of colleagues, students or clients, eyes studiously focused in a variety of different directions. Even with study after study driving home the importance of eye contact in online environments, it’s something that most of us fail to do. This happens to such an extent that it’s not really considered rude to appear like we’re looking in askance when we’re speaking or listening, but it does mean that those who are able to do so will truly stand out in their meetings, stream or video. There’s some serious value to be had in taking just a few steps to achieve what most people have not ventured to try.

In this article, we’ll examine some practical ways to improve your level of eye contact in online meetings, videos, or streams, and then look at a couple of the technological assists that are available to those who want to take their online game a step further. By the time you’re finished, you’ll have a set of tools to help you convey confidence, signal attentiveness and inspire trust when communicating online.

Lens Contact

The most direct step for improving eye contact is also perhaps the most difficult: looking straight at your camera when you speak or listen. Most seasoned video pros are able to easily execute what we like to call lens contact, but for most of us, it’s important to see faces when we’re having a conversation. We typically modulate our tone, pace and content according to cues like frowns, smiles, nods and - heaven forbid - eyerolls, so it can be difficult to conduct an interaction entirely without looking at the people we’re talking to. Still, for those with the confidence and concentration to make it work, looking straight into the camera is the surest way to achieving perfect eye contact, every time. It may just take some practice, and you might consider putting something next to the lens - every just a smiley face drawn on a sticky note - that will help give something other than a bit unresponsive hardware to look at. For best results, make sure that the camera is at or just above eye level.

For those who find it vital to actually look at human faces, the best option is to align the lens of the camera you’re using as closely as possible with the window of your interlocutor. If you’re using a built-in camera, you can move your presentation, script or meeting window as high on the screen as possible. For those using phones, mirrorless cameras, or webcams, there’s a bit more leeway. Using a good gooseneck arm or tripod, you can mount your camera in front of the screen itself, and then drag the window featuring your presentation so that they are just above or below the lens (in our experience, placing it next to the lens more readily breaks the impression of eye contact). It’s also worth it to check if your software comes with a transparency mode - Camo’s is located in Camo Studio/Advanced. This allows you to set the Camo window to a number of different transparency strengths, and place it directly over your Zoom call or speaking notes. This locates two important reference points together, as close to the lens as possible.

If you’re on a laptop, screen space is a bit more precious, so you may want to find a tripod with as minimal a footprint as possible (and raise your laptop on some books to get everything to eye level). In a pinch, you can even improvise your own mount using a metal coat hanger or restocking some Legos. There’s a wide range of options out there, and we’ve tested out quite a few for phones.

For meetings with multiple participants, rearranging windows on the fly will keep you looking attentive. You can think of it as the equivalent of turning your head to look at a different speaker in a conference room - as soon as someone new pipes up, just move their window adjacent to the camera lens. If you find yourself distracted by your own image, as many of us do, try hiding your window or closing it.

The final practical step we’d recommend - if you have the real estate for it, is to change the angles of your gaze by creating a bit more distance between you and the screen. If you typically sit quite close to your camera, the angle created by looking even a small distance from the lens is great enough to break the impression of eye contact. Try moving back just a bit - the further you go, the more leeway you’ll have to let your eyes move away from the lens to another part of the screen. Of course, if you’re using a built-in microphone, you’ll also be moving farther away from good sound quality, so you may want to look at some external microphone or lavalier options that will bring good light and sound with you. You’ll also want to reframe your shot, so you don’t shrink too much in the frame - Camo’s zoom and frame tool will be especially useful here.

 In this sequence, I'm looking at the same spot on the screen - about two inches below the camera lens - from three different distances. Note how my eyeline moves closer to direct as I move further back. I used Camo's Zoom feature to keep the same framing for my face, while moving my key light - a swing arm lamp - with me each time.
In this sequence, I'm looking at the same spot on the screen - about two inches below the camera lens - from three different distances. Note how my eyeline moves closer to direct as I move further back. I used Camo's Zoom feature to keep the same framing for my face, while moving my key light - a swing arm lamp - with me each time.

Of course, not everyone has the time to practice looking directly at a lens, the spare focus needed to rearrange windows during a meeting, or the space to widen the gap between their eyes and their camera. For them, as well as for those who often read from presentations or scripts when using video, there are a few different tech solutions available.

Teleprompters

Products tested:

Andoer Universal Teleprompter UK £75 US $100

Teleprompter Premium+ Free

For those who to do a lot of presenting, and are more interested in reading from notes or a script rather than seeing your audience, there’s the classic teleprompter - also known as an autocue, which now comes in a range of sizes and can be readily used with any device running a teleprompter app. They’re not just for newsreaders and politicians - with the help of simple angled two-way mirror, compact teleprompters can project a script or presentation from a tablet or even a smartphone directly in front of your lens, allowing you to channel your inner Cronkite and keep that important eye contact as you talk. You’ll need to run supplemental software on your tablet or phone - an app that reverses your text for mirroring and then scrolls it at a comfortable pace (we used the simple and free Teleprompter app, but there are many more out there, including the web-based, voice-controlled Speakflow. Once you have the hardware and software you need, though, setting up is surprisingly simple, and the results are striking.

If you’d rather not bring more hardware into your setup, running a teleprompter app directly on your computer screen can still be useful, since this can keep text moving close to the lens, giving you one less variable to worry about while presenting. We’ve found good success placing Camo in transparency mode over ours, available in both computer and phone versions.

Digital solutions

Finally, if you don’t mind dipping a toe into the uncanny, there are a few software solutions out there that will digitally redirect your gaze toward the camera. FaceTime’s eye contact feature rolled out on iPhones with iOS 14, and is enabled by default, and the folks at NVIDIA unveiled their Eye Contact feature for Broadcast 1.4 in January. Each of these features does more or less the same thing: tracking your eye movement, and then digitally overlaying a steady gaze when you look away from the camera lens - consider it the high-tech equivalent of cutting a ping pong ball in half, scribbling little black dots on each, and placing them over your eyes.

If you don’t have any misgivings about having parts of your body deepfaked in real time, we found the FaceTime and NVIDIA features to be fairly effective within a certain range of angles, though we did notice some small changes to our eye size and shape. The FaceTime effect - raising the eyes up just a fraction so that the user seems to be looking directly at the iPhone’s selfie lens - was almost imperceptible, though we did notice that when it was activated and the person speaking looked directly into the phone camera, it gave the impression that they were looking at a point above our head. On the other hand, NVIDIA’s effect was both more powerful, and more noticeable. When we moved our eyes just a bit to the left or right, a direct gaze was maintained with perhaps just a slight flicker. When we looked further afield, however, the digital correction sometimes took a moment to visibly drag the eyes back to the front. We look forward to comparing these to Microsoft own eye contact feature, which it rolled out with Windows 11 for use on computers with ARM chips.

Of course, there’s good eye contact, and then there’s unnatural staring, and these features all still need work in terms of finding where one ends and the other begins. The eye contact technology space is moving forward quickly, however, so check back soon to see what new tech we’ve been trying out in our mission to help you stand out with better video (if we were in Japan or Singapore, we’d definitely be jumping into a full-size virtual portal). In the meantime, if you find that any - or many - of these options work for you, or if you’ve discovered a different solution that you think we should try out, let us know in the comments below.

How can we help?

Our support team are here to help!

Our office hours are Monday to Friday, 9 AM to 5 PM GMT. The time is currently 8:18 PM GMT.

We aim to reply to all messages within one working day.

Our awesome support team

Can we improve this article?

We love hearing from users: why not drop us an email, leave a comment, or tweet @reincubate?

© 2008 - 2024 Reincubate Ltd. All rights reserved. Registered in England and Wales #5189175, VAT GB151788978. Reincubate® and Camo® are registered trademarks. Privacy policy & terms.