如何在视频通话中获得最佳照明

更新
Cover image for: 如何在视频通话中获得最佳照明

那么,您想要更好的视频通话灯光吗?我也是。我买了一堆不同的灯,并尝试了我身边的东西,看看哪种灯在使用迷彩时效果最好。

为您的 iPhone 寻找最佳安装座不同,这是相当简单的,实现良好的照明稍微复杂一些,并且需要学习一些理论。我不是照明专家,所以我联系了摄影师Gia Goodrich ,帮助我思考如何确定什么是好的灯光。这是 Gia 在下面的视频中给出的概述。

良好的光线通常既是日光平衡又是强烈的。

除此之外,您想要在灯光中寻找的功能类型取决于灯光的用途。对于视频通话之类的事情,您可能想要合并多个灯。您可能听说过三点照明。如果您查看 Gia 在视频中的设置,她的三个灯光区域是 (1) 照亮她的灯光(主光),(2)为她的背景添加紫丁香色调的灯光,(补光灯) ),和 (3) 灯和条形灯(背光)的黄油黄色光。

这将是一篇很长的文章。为了防止它过长,我将专注于寻找一个好的主光(将照亮主题的光,对于视频通话,那就是你)。因此,请原谅我在这些说明性图像中比理想的背景更暗。以下是 Gia 关于补光灯的更多信息。

为了获得良好的主光,我们正在寻找柔和的、从上方成角度的、前面和大的东西

我问了 Gia 很多其他问题,因此我将继续在整篇文章中包含她提供的有用背景和解释。有关创建良好照明设置的更多提示,Gia 有一个非常有用的YouTube 频道,致力于帮助像我这样困惑的人创建良好的照明设置,特别是针对视频通话的特定问题,例如戴眼镜时防止眩光。

考虑到 Gia 的评论,我认为我有一个相当好的起点来开始评估这些灯中的每一个。当然,实际上,在寻找适合视频通话的光源时,光源的工作效果如何只是难题的一部分,尤其是当您在家工作时。在这种情况下,好灯还需要满足其他更实用的标准。

为了评估这些灯,我将问自己以下问题:

  • 它作为光源的效果如何?颜色看起来是否自然和日光平衡?还是它把我洗掉了,或者给了我太多的温暖?灯光是柔和的还是刺眼的?够激烈吗?

  • 使用起来是否实用?坐在办公桌前是否可以轻松设置和打开和关闭?我如何控制它?我需要充电吗?可以过热吗?声音大吗?是不是太亮了,让我眯眼?

  • 它适用于我的空间吗?它是否太大而无法实际放入家庭办公室?电缆是否太多?我可以完美定位灯光吗?我可以轻松移动它吗?

  • 是否划算?如果价格昂贵,是否合理,或者是否有更便宜的替代品可以产生类似的效果?如果它便宜,它可能会持续一段时间,还是我需要尽快更换?

对于每个部分,我会给每个灯打 5 分。

测试产品

设置

我将在这里测试不同的照明选项:

正如您在这些图片中看到的,桌子后面和右边有窗户。在右侧,您可以看到我在 Camo 中使用此设置且没有额外照明的情况下的外观。

房间本身光线充足,但两个窗户的位置远非理想。我身后的光线使我看起来比背景更暗,而侧面的光线在我的脸上产生了不需要的阴影。

因此,我的第一步是尽可能多地消除这种光。当然,我可以简单地利用光线,通过转动我的桌子,让我面对这些窗户中的一个,这将是今天的一个很好的光源。因为我在英格兰,像这样美好的一天是很少见的,绝对不能依赖于良好的照明设置。我还需要从相同的起点比较这些选项,这在自然光下很难做到,因为它会在一天中发生变化。那么,让我们看看这些灯可以在没有任何帮助的情况下做什么。

柔光箱

得分:柔光箱
5
实用性4
空间1
成本效益4

使用的产品

柔光箱用于专业布景,由于它们的尺寸,它在我测试的所有选项中提供了最好(也是最讨人喜欢的)光线。柔光箱内的相机实际上很小,但柔光箱内的两层漫射产生了大而柔和的光线,足以轻轻地环绕前景中的任何物体。

The softbox provided the best source of light
柔光箱提供了最好的光源

我将柔光箱直接放在我的相机后面,将灯光调得比相机稍高,然后将灯光向下倾斜以尝试创造一种微妙的派拉蒙灯光效果。 Parker Walbeck 在他的视频中概述了五种最受欢迎的人像照明模式。

柔光箱产生的光线真的很美。它柔软而讨人喜欢,而且非常明亮,不会让我眯眼。颜色无法调整,但在我(业余)看来很自然,既不太暖也不太冷。亮度可以调节,我用的是75%的亮度。

需要一些组装,但如果您熟悉雨伞的一般结构,您就可以了。设置好后,您只需使用灯背面的开关打开和关闭它,它就会记住您上次的设置。显然它带有一个遥控器,但我从来没有找到我的。它插入电源,并且因为它是为专业拍摄而设计的,所以灯光控制在后面,所以你不能从你的桌子上调节亮度。灯有一个风扇以防止过热,但它的声音几乎不足以听到,也不足以被大多数麦克风拾取。

这是一个实用的选择吗?可能不适合我们大多数人。这是一个真正巨大的套件。我的实际办公桌与墙壁齐平,因此,除了以某种方式将灯安装到天花板上并从办公桌上移回电话之外,这不是我能够使用的东西。但是,如果您有足够的空间,并且想要最好的照明,那么就是这样。

我使用的柔光箱由三部分组成:灯、箱和支架,加在一起,成本约为 300 美元(220 英镑)。视频会议灯很贵,但对于那些需要最好的灯的人来说,它的价格并不高。

USB视频灯

得分:USB视频灯
3
实用性5
空间5
成本效益5

使用的产品

One of these lights is bright enough to fully light me, but the harsh nature of the light emphasises shine and some shadows and imperfections
其中一盏灯足够亮,可以完全照亮我,但光线的刺眼性质强调了光泽和一些阴影和瑕疵

灯是一包两个的,虽然我在这里只用了一个。您可以通过 USB 电缆将灯连接到您的计算机,并带有一小组控件,可让您打开和关闭灯并调节亮度。这是一种简单的灯,但灯本身看起来非常自然,而且在您的办公桌上使用起来非常容易。支架是可伸缩的,可以举得很高,很方便。

虽然光线带有柔化滤镜,但滤镜与光源非常接近,以至于它不能像柔光箱那样有效地柔化光线。您可以在上图中看到,额头上的光泽增加,还有一些阴影,刺眼的光线在我的皮肤上出现了一些瑕疵。

其他一些缺点:电缆不是很长,而且制造成本有点低。

也就是说,对于两盏灯售价 45 美元(32 英镑)的选项,这是一个不错的选择。它明亮,光色好,紧凑,可调,使用方便。

埃尔加托按键灯

得分:Elgato 主灯
3
实用性3
空间4
成本效益2

使用的产品

The Elgato key light gave similar results to the generic desk light, but was a little more fiddly to use
Elgato 主灯的效果与通用台灯相似,但使用起来更加繁琐

接下来,我尝试了流光最喜欢的Elgato 按键灯。虽然支架本身的质量比上面测试的普通灯要好得多,但灯的质量相当。 Elgato 灯与测试的普通灯存在相同的问题,即虽然它努力柔化光线,但由于漫射部分离灯泡很近,因此光线不可避免地比柔光箱发出的光线更刺眼。

我个人并不喜欢 Elgato 软件体验,我希望就价格而言,它可以与 HomeKit 一起使用,但事实并非如此。尝试在两个 Key Lights 之间切换时,软件问题似乎更加复杂,这就是为什么较大的灯光在镜头中显得更暖和的原因,我找不到将控制中心切换到那个灯光而不是较小的灯光的方法(我我确信我可以花一些时间在谷歌上搜索并尝试各种事情来解决这个问题,但这似乎有点困难)。从实用的角度来看,在电缆上控制的不太复杂的通用灯效果更好。也就是说,能够从显示器调整亮度和温度的概念是一个很好的概念。

小型和大型 Elgato 灯零售价分别略高于 100 美元(100 英镑)和略低于 200 美元(200 英镑)。我不确定为什么稍大的版本几乎是价格的两倍,因为它的性能似乎并没有太大不同。

我不喜欢的其他方面:电缆不是很长,支架非常笨重且难以移动,特别是因为它设计用于在显示器后面使用。

宜家台灯

得分:宜家台灯
2
实用性2
空间3
成本效益5

使用的产品

如果真的不想再买东西怎么办?

如果您愿意接受稍差的图像质量,您可能可以使用您已经拥有的东西。

我已经有这款宜家台灯占用了空间。购买新产品需要 17 英镑(26.99 美元)。按原样使用它,它提供了一个合格的图像。灯泡有点热,但我可以使用迷彩来降低饱和度(我也可以用更冷的选项替换灯泡)。

我尝试使用漫射袜子稍微柔化光线(纸灯笼也会有类似的效果)。柔和的光线不那么刺眼,也比裸灯更容易看,但它确实减少了光量,并导致 iPhone 难以处理图像。

最终的结果还算不错,但不是很好。如果将这种灯(任何其他类似选项)用作使用窗户光线时的补充选项,可能会非常好。

柯达环形灯

得分:柯达环形灯
2
实用性2
空间2
成本效益1

使用的产品

The Kodak light was extremely annoying to use, and the light produced was only okay
柯达灯用起来很烦,发出的光也还行

环形灯似乎以某种方式赢得了与手机和视频通话完美搭配的美誉这样做),您看到环形灯的可能性与看到一碗水果的可能性差不多。

不过,一般来说,环形灯实际上并不是那么好。这是 Gia 解释原因:

通常情况下,环形灯是错误的选择

我试用了柯达环形灯,因为它是更昂贵的选择之一,并且它包含一个手机支架,因此理论上它可以减少桌面空间。

这绝对是我测试过的最糟糕的灯,其中包括来自宜家的 > 30 美元的带暖灯泡的灯。光线不够强,虽然您可以在三种预设光色之间切换,但即使是“中性”选项似乎也有点太暖和了。您可以看到来自我的 Camo feed 的图像不像大多数其他选项那样清晰,因为光线根本没有在场景上投射足够的光线。

从实际的角度来看,这种光是令人气愤的。虽然手机支架意味着您不需要为手机单独安装支架,但支腿除了张开外不会做任何事情,占用大量桌面空间。

为什么?!

支架不会延伸得很高,当您将它与笔记本电脑一起使用时,这还不算太糟糕,但是将它与更大的显示器一起使用会切断一半的光线。

判决书

最终成绩
柔光箱14
USB视频灯18
埃尔加托钥匙灯12
宜家灯12
柯达环形灯7

USB 灯对我来说似乎是最好的选择,考虑到这些灯需要在视频通话中使用,可以在办公桌上轻松关闭和打开并进行调整,而且不会占用太多空间。

附加灯

使用的产品

好的,所以我说除了主灯之外我不会进入任何其他东西,但是我周围有一堆其他灯不能像主灯一样工作,所以这里有一个快速而肮脏的外观在其他地方使用其他灯光为视频通话创建更有趣的灯光设置。

一旦你弄清楚了你的主光,你就可以更多地考虑添加更多的光层。

虽然我的场景还可以,但有点无聊。还有一个问题是我的橙色头发与橙色砖块不太明显,并且镜头中有很多奶油色。我使用了一些色调播放灯和一个条形灯为我身后的砖块添加了更多的橙色,并在我身后几乎完全放置了一个粉红色的灯,这样它就给我的左手边带来了一点粉红色。色调灯真的很容易通过手机控制和调整,我在几分钟内设置了这个场景。

再多花一点时间,您可以更加批判性地思考您可能想要放置灯的位置以及原因。我只是在这里摆弄灯光,但理想情况下,你添加的每一层灯光都应该有某种目的,例如,你可能想要在你自己和背景之间创造更多的区别(就像 Gia 在她身上所做的那样通过在她身后使用对比色来制作视频),为您的场景添加一些视觉趣味,或者从您的脸上去除更多阴影。

如果您希望我们查看任何其他灯光,或者您有任何其他提示可以帮助我获得更好的灯光设置,请在下面的评论中告诉我(或在推特上告诉我们@reincubate

我们能帮你什么吗?

我们的支持团队在这里提供帮助!

我们的办公时间是格林威治标准时间周一至周五上午9点至下午5点。 时间目前是 8:54 AM的 GMT。

我们力争在一个工作日内答复所有垂询。

转到支持部分 › 联系我们 ›
我们的支持团队非常棒

我们可以改进这篇文章吗?

我们喜欢听取用户的意见:为什么不给我们发电子邮件,发表评论或发推文 @reincubate?

© 2008 - 2021 Reincubate Ltd. 保留所有权利。 在英格兰和威尔士注册 #5189175, VAT GB151788978. Reincubate®和Camo®是注册商标。 隐私政策 & 条款. 在伦敦建立了爱情。

How to get the best lighting on video calls

Cover image for: How to get the best lighting on video calls

So, you want better lights for your video calls? Me too. I bought a bunch of different lights and tried things I had lying around to see which lights works best when using Camo.

Unlike finding the best mount for your iPhone, which is fairly straightforward, achieving good lighting is slightly more complicated, and involves learning a little theory. I’m no lighting expert, so I reached out to photographer Gia Goodrich, who is, to help me think through how to identify what makes a good light. That's Gia giving an overview in the video below.

A good light is generally both daylight balanced and intense.

Beyond this, the sort of features you want to look for in a light depend on the purpose of the light. For something like a video call, you might want to encorporate multiple lights. You may have heard of three-point lighting. If you look at Gia's setup in her video, her three zones of lights are (1) the light that's lighting her (the key light), (2) the light that's adding a purpley-lilac hue to her background, (the fill light), and (3) the buttery yellow light of the lamp and strip light (the back light).

This is going to be a long article. To keep it from being extra-super long, I’m going to focus on finding a good key light (the light that will shine on the subject, for video calls, that's you). As such, please excuse my darker-than-ideal background in these illustrative images. Here's some more information from Gia about fill lights.

For a good key light, we're looking for something that's Soft, Angled from above, In front and Large

I asked Gia lots of other questions, so I’ll continue to include the helpful context and explanations that she provided throughout the article. For more tips on creating a good lighting setup, Gia has an extremely helpful YouTube channel dedicated to helping confused people like me to create good lighting setups, particularly for video-call specific issues, such as preventing glare from lighting when wearing glasses.

With Gia’s comments in mind, I think I have a fairly good starting point to begin to evaluate each of these lights. Practically speaking, of course, how well a light source works is just one piece of the puzzle when looking for a light that will work well for video calls, especially if you work from home. A good light in this situation needs to meet other, more practical criteria too.

To evaluate these lights I’m going to be asking myself the following questions:

  • How well does it work as a light source? Does the colour look natural and daylight balanced? Or is it washing me out, or giving me too much warmth? Is the lighting soft or harsh? Is it intense enough?

  • Is it practical to use? Is it easy to set up and turn on and off while sitting at my desk? How do I control it? Do I need to charge it? Can it overheat? Is it loud? Is it too bright, and causing me to squint?

  • Does it work with my space? Is it too big to fit practically into a home office? Are there too many cables? Can I position the light perfectly? Can I move it easily?

  • Is it cost-effective? If it’s expensive, is it justifiably so, or are there cheaper alternatives that produce a similar effect? If it’s cheap, is it likely to last for a while, or will I need to replace it soon?

I’ll give each light a score of 5 for each section.

Products tested

Setup

Here’s where I’ll be testing the different lighting options:

As you can see in these images, there are windows behind and to the right of the desk. To the right, you can see how my feed in Camo looks with this setup and no additional lighting.

There’s a lot of light in the room itself, but the position of the two windows is far from ideal. The light behind me is causing me to appear darker than the background, and the light to the side is creating unwanted shadows on my face.

My first step, therefore, is to get rid of as much of this light as possible. Of course, I could simply work with the light, by turning my desk so that I was facing one of these windows, and that would be a good source of light today. As I’m in England, a nice day like this is something of a rarity, and definitely not to be relied upon for a good lighting setup. I also need to compare these options from the same starting point, which is tough to do with natural light, as it’s going to change throughout the day. So, let’s see what these lights can do without any help.

Softbox

Scores: Softbox
Light 5
Practicality 4
Space 1
Cost effective 4

Products Used

Softboxes are used for professional sets, and offer the best (and most flattering) light of all the options I tested because of their size. The camera inside the softbox is actually quite small, but the two layers of diffusion within the box create a large, soft light that is big enough to gently wrap around whatever’s in the foreground.

The softbox provided the best source of light
The softbox provided the best source of light

I positioned the softbox directly behind my camera, and raised the light slightly higher than the camera, then angled the light down to try to create a subtle Paramount lighting effect. Parker Walbeck outlines the five most popular portrait lighting patterns in his video here.

The light produced by the softbox is truly beautiful. It’s soft and flattering, and very bright without causing me to squint. The colour can’t be adjusted, but it appears to my (amateur) eyes to be very natural, neither too warm nor too cold. The brightness can be adjusted, and I used it at 75% brightness.

There's some assembly required, but if you're familiar with the general structure of umbrellas you'll be fine. Once it's set up, you just turn it on and off using a switch at the back of the light, and it remembers your last settings. Apparently it comes with a remote, but I never found mine. It plugs into the mains, and because it’s made to be used on professional shoots, the lighting controls are at the back, so you can’t adjust the brightness from your desk. The light has a fan to prevent overheating, but it's barely loud enough to hear, and not loud enough to get picked up on most mics.

Is it a practical option? Probably not for most of us. This is a truly enormous piece of kit. My actual desk sits flush against a wall, so, save for somehow mounting a light to the ceiling and moving back from my desk for calls, it’s not something I’ll be able to use myself. But if you have the space, and want the best lighting available to you, this is it.

The softbox I used is made up of three sections: the light, the box and the stand, which, added together, cost about $300 (£220). It’s expensive for a video conferencing light, but for those who need the best light, it’s not overpriced.

USB video lights

Scores: USB video light
Light 3
Practicality 5
Space 5
Cost effective 5

Products Used

One of these lights is bright enough to fully light me, but the harsh nature of the light emphasises shine and some shadows and imperfections
One of these lights is bright enough to fully light me, but the harsh nature of the light emphasises shine and some shadows and imperfections

The light came in a pack of two, although I’m only using one here. You can connect the light to your computer via USB cable with a small set of controls that let you turn the light on and off and adjust the brightness. It’s a simple light, but the light itself looks pretty natural, and it’s really easy to use from your desk. The stand is extendable, and can be lifted pretty high up, which is handy.

While the light comes with a softening filter, the filter is so close to the light source that it’s not softening the light as effectively as the softbox. You can see that in the image above where there is increased shine on my forehead, as well as some shadows, and the harsh light is picking up some imperfections in my skin.

Some other cons: the cable isn’t super long, and it’s a bit cheaply made.

That said, for an option that costs $45 (£32) for two lights, it’s a pretty good option. It’s bright, the colour of the light is good, it’s compact, adjustable and easy to use.

Elgato key light

Scores: Elgato key light
Light 3
Practicality 3
Space 4
Cost effective 2

Products Used

The Elgato key light gave similar results to the generic desk light, but was a little more fiddly to use
The Elgato key light gave similar results to the generic desk light, but was a little more fiddly to use

Next up, I tried the streamer favourite, the Elgato key lights. While the quality of the stand itself is much better than the generic light tested above, the quality of the light is pretty comparable. The Elgato light has the same issue as the generic light tested, which is that, while it makes an effort to soften the light, as the diffusing section is so close to the light bulbs that the light is inevitably harsher than light from a softbox.

I didn’t personally enjoy the Elgato software experience, and I hoped that for the price, it would work with HomeKit, which it doesn’t. Software issues seem to be compounded when trying to switch between the two Key Lights, which is why the larger light appears warmer in the shots, I couldn’t find a way to switch the control centre to that light instead of the smaller one (I’m sure I could have fixed this with some time spent googling and trying various things, but it seemed like a bit of a slog). From a practical perspective, the much less sophisticated generic light with controls on the cable worked better. That said, the concept of being able to adjust the light level and temperature from your monitor is a good one.

The small and large Elgato lights retail for just over $100 (£100) and just under $200 (£200) respectively. I’m not sure why the slightly larger version is almost twice the price, as it doesn't seem to perform too differently.

Other things I don’t like: the cable isn’t super long, the stand is really quite clunky and hard to move around, particularly as it’s designed to be used behind monitors.

IKEA desk light

Scores: IKEA lamp
Light 2
Practicality 2
Space 3
Cost effective 5

Products Used

What if you really don’t want to buy any more things?

If you’re willing to settle for slightly worse picture quality, you can probably get away with using something you already own.

I already had this IKEA desk lamp taking up space. It’s £17 ($26.99) to buy new. Using it as is, it provided a passable image. The bulb is a little warm, but I can use Camo to lower the saturation (I could also replace the bulb with a cooler option).

I experimented with softening the light slightly using a diffuser sock (a paper lantern would have a similar effect). The softer light is less harsh, and easier to look towards than the bare lamp, but it does cut down the amount of light, and causes the iPhone to struggle to process the image.

The final result does a passable, but not great, job. This lamp (any other similar options) would probably be pretty good if used as a supplementary option when using light from a window.

Kodak ring light

Scores: Kodak ring light
Light 2
Practicality 2
Space 2
Cost effective 1

Products Used

The Kodak light was extremely annoying to use, and the light produced was only okay
The Kodak light was extremely annoying to use, and the light produced was only okay

Ring lights seem to have somehow garnered a reputation as the perfect light to use with your phone and on video calls, to the extent that, if you walk around a city like London and look through windows (if you’re the sort of person who does that), you’re about as likely to see a ring light as a bowl of fruit.

Generally speaking, though, ring lights just practically aren’t that great. Here’s Gia explaining why:

More often than not, a ring light is the wrong option

I tried out the Kodak ring light, because it’s one of the more expensive options, and it includes a mount for your phone, so it, theoretically, cuts down on desk space.

This was definitely the worst light I tested, and that’s including a >$30 light from IKEA with a warm bulb. The light just wasn’t strong enough, and while you can switch between three pre-set light colours, even the ‘neutral’ option seemed a little too warm. You can see that the image from my Camo feed isn’t as crisp as most of the other options, as the light simply isn’t throwing enough light on the scene.

From a practical standpoint, this light is infuriating. While the phone mount means you don’t need a separate mount for your phone, the legs refuse to do anything other than splay out, taking up a large amount of desk space.

WHY?!

The stand doesn’t extend very high, which isn’t too bad when you’re using it with a laptop, but using it with a larger monitor would cut off half of the light.

Verdict

Final scores
Softbox 14
USB video lights 18
Elgato key lights 12
IKEA lamp 12
Kodak ring light 7

The USB lights seem like the best option to me, when taking into account that these lights will need to be used on video calls, turned off and on and adjusted easily from a desk, and not take up too much space.

Additional lights

Products Used

Okay, so I said I wasn't going to go into anything other than the key light, but I've got a bunch of other lights hanging around that won't work well as key lights, so here's a quick and dirty look at using other lights elsewhere to create a more interesting lighting setup for video calls.

Once you've got your key light figured out, you can more on to look at adding more layers of light.

While my scene is okay, it's a bit boring. There's also the issue that my orangish hair isn't too distinct from the orangish bricks, and there's a lot of cream colour in the shot. I used some hue play lights and a strip light to add more orange to the bricks behind me, and place a pink light almost completely behind me so it gave just a bit of pink to my left hand side. Hue lights are really easy to control and adjust from your phone, and I set up this scene in a couple of minutes.

With a bit more time, you could think a little more critically about where you might want to place lights, and why. I'm just messing around with lights here, but ideally, each layer of light you add should serve some sort of purpose, for example, you might want to create more of a distinction between yourself and the background (as Gia has done in her videos by using a contrasting colour behind her), add some visual interest to your scene, or take away further shadows from your face.

If you'd like us to look at any other lights, or if you've got any other tips to help me get a better lighting setup, let me know in the comments below (or Tweet us @reincubate)

How can we help?

Our support team are here to help!

Our office hours are Monday to Friday, 9 AM to 5 PM GMT. The time is currently 9:50 PM GMT.

We aim to reply to all messages within one working day.

Our awesome support team

Can we improve this article?

We love hearing from users: why not drop us an email, leave a comment, or tweet @reincubate?

© 2008 - 2021 Reincubate Ltd. All rights reserved. Registered in England and Wales #5189175, VAT GB151788978. Reincubate® and Camo® are registered trademarks. Privacy policy & terms. Built with in London.