如何修复“ iPhone备份失败”并释放iCloud存储空间

更新
Cover image for: 如何修复“ iPhone备份失败”并释放iCloud存储空间

iPhone备份失败

您在iCloud中没有足够的空间来备份此iPhone

许多人在他们的手机上听到了神秘的“iPhone备份失败”消息。让我们来看看如何解决它,以及它意味着什么。简短版本是您的iPhone默认为其内容定期备份到iCloud。如果您丢失或损坏手机,这非常方便;您将能够将数据还原到新设备。

Apple在保护手机内容方面做得非常出色。在某种程度上,这意味着如果您丢失或破坏它,可能很难恢复您的数据。对手机内容进行定期安全备份非常有意义,而且您的iPhone可以自动备份。

您可以通过两种方式备份手机,虽然您可以在任一方法之间自由选择和移动,但您不能同时使用这两种方法。

您几乎肯定已使用Apple ID登录iPhone,这意味着您的手机可以访问您的iCloud存储空间。默认情况下,手机会尝试在那里进行定期备份。满足以下条件时,手机可以进行iCloud备份:

  • 手机已锁定
  • 它连接到电源
  • 范围内有Wi-Fi网络

我们可以使用三种方法:

  • 修复iCloud备份问题,以便手机成功备份
  • 切换到iTunes备份
  • 完全禁用备份过程

让我们按顺序运行这些。

修复iCloud备份

iCloud备份可能会失败的原因很少。通常情况下,这是因为与iPhone关联的Apple ID没有足够的免费iCloud存储空间。默认情况下,每个用户获得5GB。最简单的解决方案是向Apple支付少量月费: 购买更多iCloud存储

如何增加iCloud存储空间

Apple有关于如何购买更多iCloud存储空间的说明 ,但过程非常简单:

  1. 转到Settings[your name]iCloudManage StorageiCloud Storage 。如果您使用的是iOS 10.2或更早版本,请转到SettingsiCloudStorage
  2. 点按“购买更多存储空间”或“更改存储空间方案”。
  3. 选择一个计划。
  4. 点按“购买”,然后按照屏幕上的说明操作。

购买更多空间会带来额外的好处:如果您为Apple设备创建“ 家庭共享 ”组,则家庭的其他成员(不仅仅是孩子)都可以使用您拥有的任何可用空间,而不会损害其数据的隐私性。 。

如果您不想购买更多空间,那很好:我们可以通过备份较少的数据或删除已经占用存储空间的数据来释放iCloud存储空间。

如何释放iCloud存储空间

占用iCloud存储空间的数据往往有五种类型:

  1. iOS应用程序直接在iCloud中存储数据
  2. iPhone备份
  3. 来自文档和桌面的文件(但仅当您启用了“在iCloud中存储”的macOS计算机时)
  4. 来自Apple服务的数据(iCloud照片库,照片流,iCloud中的消息等)
  5. 家庭共享数据(即已被授予使用存储池许可的其他家庭成员)

为什么我的iCloud存储空间没有加起来?

有几个因素使得了解iCloud备份使用了多少iCloud空间以及原因变得棘手。

首先,iOS设备上Settings的“ iCloud Storage部分中显示的iCloud使用情况不会显示iCloud备份使用情况。相反,它显示了设备的应用程序在运行时使用了多少iCloud存储。这与每个应用程序在手机上占用的存储量不同

实际上,应用程序在运行时能够存储在iCloud中的次数越多,备份所需的就越少。例如:如果您有100GB的照片并将其存储在iCloud Photo Library中,它们将不会存储在您的iCloud备份中。 (因为那是多余的。)

其次,虽然查看Settings下的Settings备份Storage窗格更有帮助,但这不是全局。它仅显示可以打开或关闭的特定应用程序的数据 。它不显示系统数据。什么是系统数据?好吧,很多东西:消息和附件,监视备份,你的设置,各种数据库和随时间增长的配置文件。有各种各样的东西可以蔓延到那么大。你的大壁纸图片?你的草稿中那个大的未发送的信息?

还有第三个因素:iCloud备份存储为快照。您的设备将(通常)一次存储3个,每个存储为最后一个三角形。这会消耗额外的空间。例如。如果今天是星期五并且早上运行备份,则您的iCloud备份将具有:

  • 来自Weds的一切
  • 周四的新鲜事
  • 周五新鲜的一切

这个三角洲很可能很小,但确实会让这个尺寸膨胀一点。

例如,消息数据库很容易膨胀到1GB。如果您真的想深入了解并找到空间的位置,您可以随时使用iPhone备份提取器下载iCloud备份并解析文件。你从这里得到的是数字加起来。

为了更加实用,很难减少这个数字。可以防止单个应用程序备份。但这可能没有帮助,也不会减少系统存储。真正有效地做到这一点的唯一方法是爆炸手机并重新开始,但如果你正在通过iCloud进行同步(比如你的钥匙串,iCloud中的消息等),它可能会重新建立使用相当数量的东西空间很快。升级iCloud存储几乎总是最实用的答案,而且相对便宜。

通过管理存储删除应用和文件

要从iOS应用程序腾出空间,请转到Settings[your name]iCloudManage StorageiCloud Storage 。如果您使用的是iOS 10.2或更早版本,请转到SettingsiCloudStorage

这将显示每个应用程序占用iCloud存储空间。具有单个文件的应用程序会将其显示在应用程序存储区下的列表中,您可以在任何文件上向左滑动以显示“删除”选项。 “删除文档和数据”将删除该应用程序的所有数据。注意:许多应用程序只以这种方式存储文件,因此通过从iCloud存储中删除文件,您可能会删除它们的唯一副本。

从iCloud备份中删除应用程序

要从iOS应用程序腾出空间,请转到Settings[your name]iCloudManage StorageBackups[your device] 。在“选择要备份的数据”下,您可以选择允许哪些应用程序的数据进入iCloud备份。

使用Apple的“文件”应用程序删除大文件

您可以删除您的iCloud存储空间使用苹果的免费大型同步文件“文件”应用程序

下载并存档较旧的iCloud设备备份

可能是您的iCloud存储空间包含旧iOS设备的备份。如果您不再需要这些备份中的数据,则可以删除它们。或者,如果您确实需要数据但宁愿将备份存储在Mac或PC上,则可以使用iPhone备份提取器在本地下载iCloud备份,然后再将其从iCloud中删除。

缩小iCloud照片库或照片流

如果您在iPhone上拍摄或共享大量照片和视频,并且启用了iCloud照片库,则可能会占用大量iCloud存储空间。我们上面描述的iPhone上的菜单将显示每种类型的数据占用了多少空间。 MacPaw的Gemini Photo包括3天的免费试用版,可以自动执行从库中删除旧照片或重复照片的过程。

启用iTunes备份(自动 - 通过Wi-Fi!)

您可以将其配置为备份到Mac或PC,而不是让您的手机每晚备份到iCloud。它会自动执行此操作,假设您将其插入家中并启用Wi-Fi并启动计算机。

我们的支持中心包括有关如何通过Wi-Fi启用iTunes备份的指南。它根本不需要任何存储空间,并且完成对计算机的本地备份后,就可以从存储中删除任何较旧的iCloud备份。

禁用iCloud备份并手动备份iPhone

我们不建议禁用自动备份,但这样做的过程很简单

  1. 转到Settings[your name]iCloudiCloud Backup
  2. 将“iCloud Backup”切换为“关闭”。

我们强烈建议您启用此功能,或定期将设备备份到带有iTunes的Mac或PC。您无需插入手机即可执行此操作:可以使用Wi-Fi将其备份到计算机(请参阅上面的部分)。

结尾

这是一个令人惊讶的常见问题。

不同的iCloud服务如何使用您的存储

iCloud由许多不同的服务组成,每个服务都可以在不同的地方存储数据。它们各自单独配置,对您可以使用的存储空间量有不同的含义。我们准备了一张下表,让您更深入地了解Apple的计划和存储计划。

iCloud备份 iCloud Drive iCloud照片库 iCloud音乐库(带Apple音乐)
做什么的在云中自动创建设备的安全备份将您的个人文件保存在云中,类似于Amazon Cloud,Google Drive或Dropbox 保存您的图片和视频,可在所有iOS和macOs设备上访问。 跨设备访问您的音乐
对...有用如果丢失或删除,恢复您的数据,切换手机保存和保护您的日常文件收集和查看您的所有照片所有音乐,随时随地
哪里(iOS) SettingsiCloudBackupOn SettingsiCloudiCloud DriveOn SettingsPhotos & CameraiCloud Photo LibraryOn SettingsMusiciCloud Music LibraryOn
哪里(macOS) 在iTunes>连接设备→ BackupsiCloud System PreferencesiCloudiCloud Drive PhotosPreferencesiCloudiCloud Photo Library 在iTunes→ PreferencesGeneraliCloud Music LibraryOn
优点缺点您的iCloud备份中未包含的数据:
  • Apple Pay
  • 触摸ID
  • iTunes和App Store内容
  • 任何导入的视频和音频文件
  • 数据已经在云中
    通过启用“在主屏幕上显示”来访问这些文件设备。如果您使用的是Mac,请使用Finder或icloud.com进行访问。如果您使用的是PC,请使用iCloud Drive或icloud.com进行访问将图像与Optimize for iPhone Storage一起使用可以节省iOS上的空间。这样,图像将无法以全分辨率存储,您可以随时以全分辨率下载图像。 添加/收藏/删除的歌曲或播放列表将反映所有设备的更改。
    存储使用iCloud存储空间使用iCloud存储空间使用iCloud存储空间 Apple Music不需要空间
    空间共享5GB的可用空间通常不足以支持单个设备共享5GB适用于小型文件集合如果没有其他数据放入iCloud,共享5GB将覆盖一年左右的照片只要您支付Apple Music订阅费用,便无限制
    • 个人订阅每月9.99美元
    • Premium Plus Plan(最多6人) - 每月14.99美元

    上表说明了Apple的每项云服务如何使用您的iCloud存储容量。

    您甚至从未考虑购买更多的iCloud存储,因为您认为您无法负担得起它?看一看。您可能会惊讶地发现50GB的iCloud空间每月只需0.99美元。 Apple的iCloud存储计划目前如下:

    • 50GB - 每月0.99美元
    • 200GB - 每月2.99美元
    • 2TB - 每月9.99美元

    要从iOS设备购买,请导航至Settings[your name]iCloudStorageBuy more Storage 。要从Mac购买,请导航至System PreferencesiCloudManageBuy more Storage 。 Apple提供有关升级iCloud存储的进一步说明。

    我们能帮你什么吗?

    我们的支持团队在这里提供帮助!

    我们的办公时间是格林威治标准时间周一至周五上午9点至下午5点。 时间目前是 10:26 AM的 GMT。

    我们力争在一个工作日内答复所有垂询。

    转到支持部分 › 联系我们 ›
    我们的支持团队非常棒

    评论 (4)

    Bonjour, Vous avez fait l’impasse sur « flux de photos » qui, lui, n’impacte pas les 5 Goalloués gracieusement par Apple!...

    Merci, nous avons mis à jour l'article!

    What if I'm paying for 50 GB of monthly iCloud storage and only have a 32 GB iPad/64 GB iPhone? Does iCloud still allow me to access 50 GB worth of storage on a device that won't hold that much? For example, Google Drive allows you to hold a lot of data in the cloud, but allows you to individually download the files so they don't take a lot of space up on your device. Does iCloud allow the same? I've wondered this for a long time and still can't find the answer. Thanks!

    Hi Drking: yes, that's right. Files can be kept in iCloud and don't have to be on the iPad all at the same time.

    Would be nice if we could use IBE Pro to access / download the iCloud Photo Library. I realize the size might be an issue, but perhaps it could be browsable.

    Hey Zachary, thanks for your email. You sure can: check out the latest version; it can do that for you. 🙂

    Just a query. If i subscribe to apple music or itunes match, i know that my tracks will be available in icloud but do those tracks take up icloud space?

    Hey Kiran: they won't take up your iCloud storage. Neat, eh?


    我们可以改进这篇文章吗?

    我们喜欢听取用户的意见:为什么不给我们发电子邮件,发表评论或发推文 @reincubate?

    © 2008 - 2020 Reincubate Ltd. 保留所有权利。 在英格兰和威尔士注册 #5189175, VAT GB151788978. Reincubate和Camo是商标。 隐私政策 & 条款. 我们推荐多因素认证。 在伦敦建立了爱情。

How to fix "iPhone Backup Failed" & free up iCloud storage

Cover image for: How to fix

iPhone Backup Failed

You do not have enough space in iCloud to back up this iPhone

Many people wake to the cryptic "iPhone Backup failed" message on their phones. Let's look at how to fix it, and what it means. The short version is that your iPhone is defaulting to take a regular backup of its content to the iCloud. This is really handy in case you ever lose or break your phone; you’ll be able to restore your data to a new device.

Apple does a great job of securing the contents of your phone. In part, that means that if you lose it or break it, it may be very difficult to recover your data. Taking a regular secure backup of your phone's contents makes a lot of sense, and your iPhone can back itself up automatically.

There are two ways for your phone to back up, and whilst you can freely choose and move between either method, you can't use both at the same time.

You've almost certainly logged into your iPhone with your Apple ID, which means that your phone is able to access your iCloud storage. By default, the phone will try to take regular backups there. A phone can make an iCloud backup when the following criteria are satisfied:

  • The phone is locked
  • It is connected to a power source
  • There is a Wi-Fi network in range

There are three approaches we could use:

  • Fixing the problem with iCloud backups, so that the phone backs up successfully
  • Switch to iTunes backups
  • Disable the backup process altogether

Let’s run through these in order.

Fixing iCloud backups

There are only a handful of reasons that an iCloud backup can fail. Typically, it’s because the Apple ID associated with the iPhone doesn’t have enough free iCloud storage space. By default, each user gets 5GB. The easiest solution comes with a small monthly fee to Apple: buying more iCloud storage.

How to increase iCloud storage space

Apple have instructions on how to buy more iCloud storage space, but the process is straightforward:

  1. Go to Settings[your name]iCloudManage Storage or iCloud Storage. If you're using iOS 10.2 or earlier, go to SettingsiCloudStorage.
  2. Tap “Buy More Storage” or “Change Storage Plan”.
  3. Choose a plan.
  4. Tap “Buy” and follow the onscreen instructions.

Buying more space comes with an additional benefit: if you create a “Family Sharing” group for your Apple devices, other members of your family (not just children) are able to use any free space you have, without compromising the privacy of their data.

If you don’t want to buy more space, that’s fine: we can free up space in your iCloud storage, either by backing up less of your data, or by removing data that is already taking up storage space.

How to free up iCloud storage space

There tend to be five types of data that take up iCloud storage space:

  1. iOS apps which store data directly in the iCloud
  2. iPhone backups
  3. Files from documents and the desktop (but only if you have macOS computers with “Store in iCloud” enabled)
  4. Data from Apple services (iCloud Photo Library, Photo Stream, Messages in iCloud, etc.)
  5. Family sharing data (ie. other family members who have been granted permission to use your storage pool)

Why doesn't my iCloud storage space add up?

There are a few factors at play that make it tricky to understand how much iCloud space is being used by iCloud backups, and why.

Firstly, iCloud usage shown in the iCloud Storage section of Settings on an iOS device doesn't show iCloud backup usage. Instead, it's showing how much iCloud storage the device's apps are using at runtime. That's not the same as how much storage each app is taking up on the phone.

In fact, the more an app is able to store in iCloud at runtime, the less it needs in the backup. As an example: if you have 100GB of photos and store them in iCloud Photo Library, they won't be stored in your iCloud backup. (As that'd be redundant.)

Second, whilst it's more helpful to look at the backup Storage pane under Settings, that's not the whole picture. It only shows app-specific data which can be toggled on or off. It doesn't show system data. What's in system data? Well, lots of stuff: Messages and attachments, Watch backups, your settings, all sorts of databases and configuration files that grow over time. There's all sorts of stuff that can creep in that's big. Your large wallpaper image? That big unsent message in your drafts?

There's a third factor: iCloud backups are stored as snapshots. Your device will (usually) store 3 at a time, each stored as a delta from the last. That can consume extra space. eg. If today is Friday and a backup ran in the morning, your iCloud backup will have:

  • Everything from Weds
  • Everything new from Thurs
  • Everything new from Fri

That delta is likely quite small, but it does inflate the size a little.

It's fairly easy for a Messages database to bloat up to 1GB, for instance. If you really wanted to dig through and find where space is going, you could always just download your iCloud backup with iPhone Backup Extractor and parse through the files. What you'd find from doing that is that the numbers add up.

To get more practical, it is hard to reduce this number. It is possible to prevent individual apps from backing up. But that might not be helpful, and it won't cut down on system storage. The only way to really effectively do that is to blast the phone and start again, but if you're syncing stuff across iCloud (like your keychain, Messages in iCloud, etc.) it could potentially get build back up to using a decent amount of space quite quickly. Upgrading iCloud storage is almost always the most practical answer, and it is relatively inexpensive.

Remove apps and files through manage storage

To make space from iOS apps, go to Settings[your name]iCloudManage Storage or iCloud Storage. If you're using iOS 10.2 or earlier, go to SettingsiCloudStorage.

That’ll show each app that’s taking up iCloud storage space. Apps with individual files will show them in a list under the app’s storage, and you can swipe left on any file to reveal a “Delete” option. “Delete Documents & Data” will remove all of that app’s data. Beware: a number of apps only store their files this way, so by removing the files from your iCloud storage you may be removing your only copy of them.

Remove apps from iCloud backups

To make space from iOS apps, go to Settings[your name]iCloudManage StorageBackups[your device]. Under "Choose data to back up", you can select which app's data is allowed into iCloud backups.

Remove large files with Apple’s “Files” app

You can remove large synchronised files from your iCloud storage space using Apple’s free “Files” app.

Download and archive older iCloud device backups

It may be that your iCloud storage space includes backups of older iOS devices. If you no longer need the data in these backups, they can be deleted. Alternately, if you do need the data but would rather store the backups on your Mac or PC, you could use iPhone Backup Extractor to download the iCloud backups locally before removing them from the iCloud.

Shrink your iCloud Photo Library or Photo Stream

If you take or share plenty of photos and videos on your iPhone and have iCloud Photo Library enabled, you’ll probably be using quite a bit of iCloud storage space. The menus on the iPhone we’ve described above will show you how much space each type of data is taking. MacPaw’s Gemini Photo includes a 3-day free trial and can automate the process of removing old or duplicate photos from your library.

Enable iTunes backups (automatically -- over Wi-Fi!)

Instead of having your phone back up nightly to the iCloud, you can configure it to back up to your Mac or PC instead. It’ll do this automatically, assuming you plug it in at home and have Wi-Fi and your computer powered on.

Our support centre includes a guide on how to enable iTunes backups over Wi-Fi. It doesn’t require any storage space at all, and once you’ve completed a local backup to your computer, you can delete any older iCloud backups from your storage.

Disable iCloud backups and back up your iPhone manually

We don’t recommend disabling automatic backups, but the process to do so is straightforward

  1. Go to Settings[your name]iCloudiCloud Backup.
  2. Toggle “iCloud Backup” to “Off”.

We strongly recommend that you either leave this function enabled, or regularly back up your device to a Mac or PC with iTunes. You needn’t plug your phone in to do this: it can be backed up to a computer using Wi-Fi (see the section above).

Coda

This is a surprisingly common problem.

How different iCloud services use your storage

iCloud is made of many different services, each of which can store data in different places. They're each configured separately, and have different implications for the amount of storage space you can use. We've prepared a table below to give you more insight into Apple's programs and storage plans.

iCloud backups iCloud Drive iCloud Photo Library iCloud Music Library (w/ Apple Music)
What for Automatically create secure backups of your device in the cloud Save your personal files in the cloud, similar to Amazon Cloud, Google Drive or Dropbox Save your pictures and videos, accessible on all your iOS and macOs devices. Access to your music across devices
Useful for Recovering your data if lost or deleted, switching phones Saving and protecting your day to day files Collecting and viewing all your photos All your music, anywhere, anytime
Where (iOS) SettingsiCloudBackupOn SettingsiCloudiCloud DriveOn SettingsPhotos & CameraiCloud Photo LibraryOn SettingsMusiciCloud Music LibraryOn
Where (macOS) In iTunes > Connect your device → BackupsiCloud System PreferencesiCloudiCloud Drive PhotosPreferencesiCloudiCloud Photo Library In iTunes → PreferencesGeneraliCloud Music LibraryOn
Pros & cons Data not included in your iCloud backup:
  • Apple Pay
  • Touch ID
  • iTunes & App Store content
  • Any imported videos & audio files
  • Data already in the cloud
    Access these files devices by turning on "Show on Home Screen". If you're using Mac, access by using Finder or icloud.com. If you're using a PC, access with an iCloud Drive or on icloud.com Use the images with Optimise for iPhone Storage to save space on iOS. This way images will not be stored at full resolution and you can always download them at full resolution if you want to. Add / favourite / deleted song or playlist will reflect changes across all devices.
    Storage Uses iCloud storage space Uses iCloud storage space Uses iCloud storage space No space needed with Apple Music
    Space Shared 5GB of free space usually not enough for a single device Shared 5GB adequate for small collections of files Shared 5GB covers a year or so of photos if no other data is put in iCloud Unlimited as long as you pay for a subscription to Apple Music
    • Individual subscription $9.99/ month
    • Premium Plus Plan (up to 6 people) – $14.99/ month

    The table above explains how each of Apple's cloud services uses your iCloud storage allowance.

    You've never even considered buying more iCloud storage because you assumed you wouldn't be able to afford it? Take a look. You might be surprised to see that 50GB of iCloud space is only $0.99 a month. Apple's iCloud storage plans are currently as follows:

    • 50GB -- $0.99 / month
    • 200GB -- $2.99 / month
    • 2TB -- $9.99 / month

    To purchase from your iOS device, navigate to Settings[your name]iCloudStorageBuy more Storage. To purchase from your Mac, navigate to System PreferencesiCloudManageBuy more Storage. Apple provide further instructions on upgrading your iCloud storage.

    How can we help?

    Our support team are here to help!

    Our office hours are Monday to Friday, 9 AM to 5 PM GMT. The time is currently 2:37 AM GMT.

    We aim to reply to all messages within one working day.

    Go to support section › Contact support ›
    Our awesome support team

    Comments (4)

    Bonjour, Vous avez fait l’impasse sur « flux de photos » qui, lui, n’impacte pas les 5 Goalloués gracieusement par Apple!...

    Merci, nous avons mis à jour l'article!

    What if I'm paying for 50 GB of monthly iCloud storage and only have a 32 GB iPad/64 GB iPhone? Does iCloud still allow me to access 50 GB worth of storage on a device that won't hold that much? For example, Google Drive allows you to hold a lot of data in the cloud, but allows you to individually download the files so they don't take a lot of space up on your device. Does iCloud allow the same? I've wondered this for a long time and still can't find the answer. Thanks!

    Hi Drking: yes, that's right. Files can be kept in iCloud and don't have to be on the iPad all at the same time.

    Would be nice if we could use IBE Pro to access / download the iCloud Photo Library. I realize the size might be an issue, but perhaps it could be browsable.

    Hey Zachary, thanks for your email. You sure can: check out the latest version; it can do that for you. 🙂

    Just a query. If i subscribe to apple music or itunes match, i know that my tracks will be available in icloud but do those tracks take up icloud space?

    Hey Kiran: they won't take up your iCloud storage. Neat, eh?


    Can we improve this article?

    We love hearing from users: why not drop us an email, leave a comment, or tweet @reincubate?

    © 2008 - 2020 Reincubate Ltd. All rights reserved. Registered in England and Wales #5189175, VAT GB151788978. Reincubate and Camo are trademarks. Privacy policy & terms. We recommend 2FA. Built with in London.