How to update an iPhone without backing up

If you update iOS on your iPhone using iTunes, you'll find it insists on updating your iTunes backup before it does so. In doing this, it'll overwrite your latest unarchived iOS backup unless you can cancel it rapidly enough. Whilst we regularly stress the importance of updating your backup, in some cases this isn't helpful: particularly if you're running this process because your phone is in a partially broken state.

Apple's over-the-air ("OTA") update mechanism avoids the need to update your backup when installing. If you're reinstalling a particular version of iOS or restoring your phone, that might not be helpful to you.

There's a simple approach to avoid being forced to backup when updating your iPhone.

Updating iOS without an iTunes backup on Windows

  1. Ensure that iTunes is completely closed.

  2. Open a Command window. Press ⊞ Win + R and the Run window should appear. Enter cmd and press ⏎ Enter.

  3. Type the following command into the black Command window that will have opened:

"%CommonProgramFiles%\Apple\Apple Application Support\defaults.exe" write com.apple.iTunes AutomaticDeviceBackupsDisabled -bool true

From this point on, if you open iTunes it will allow you to update your iPhone's version of iOS without automatically starting the backup process. If you'd like to undo this, follow the same steps 1 - 3, but run this command, instead:

"%CommonProgramFiles%\Apple\Apple Application Support\defaults.exe" write com.apple.iTunes AutomaticDeviceBackupsDisabled -bool false

Updating iOS without triggering an iTunes backup on macOS

  1. Ensure iTunes is completely closed. (Use "Quit" in your dock.)

  2. Launch the macOS Terminal application. This can be found using Finder, under Applications / Utilities / Terminal. Alternatively, it can be launched using Spotlight by pressing ⌘ Cmd +  and typing Terminal before pressing ⏎ Enter.

  3. Instruct the Terminal to change disable automatic iTunes backups, by entering the following command before pressing ⏎ Enter:

defaults write com.apple.iTunes AutomaticDeviceBackupsDisabled -bool true

From this point on, if you open iTunes it will allow you to update your iPhone's version of iOS without automatically starting the backup process. If you'd like to undo this, follow the same steps 1 - 3, but run this command, instead:

defaults write com.apple.iTunes AutomaticDeviceBackupsDisabled -bool false

How can we help?

Our support team are here to help!

Our office hours are Monday to Friday, 9 AM to 5 PM GMT. The time is currently 12:47 AM GMT.

We aim to reply to all messages within one working day.

Go to support section › Contact support ›
Our awesome support team

Comments (2)

Thanks for that guide. best regards from Brasil.

Very useful and MUCH NEEDED information, THANK YOU!!!! So much for posting this! :-D I am trying to update my iPhone XS Max on iOS 13.1.2 to 13.1.3, I'm using the latest iTunes for Windows version as of today's date on Windows 10 Pro... the update hasn't completed yet but it certainly skipped the "Backing up iPhone..." that I tried to 'x' out of a few times.. I wish it would just proceed to the update process instead of quitting all together, like it does for syncing. Anyhow~this article has helped! It seems to work, Yayyyy!!!!! Thank you!

We're glad it helped! 🙂


Can we improve this article?

We love hearing from users: why not drop us an email, leave a comment, or tweet @reincubate?

© 2008 - 2020 Reincubate Ltd. All rights reserved. Registered in England and Wales #5189175, VAT GB151788978. Reincubate® is a registered trademark. Privacy policy & terms. We recommend 2FA. Built with in London.