Comment imprimer des messages texte à utiliser comme preuve

Aidan Fitzpatrick

By Aidan Fitzpatrick

Mis à jour

See how I'm qualified to write this article

En cas de litige, de réclamation d'assurance, de procès ou de question juridique, il peut être important de documenter ou d'imprimer des SMS pour montrer qu'ils ont été envoyés, reçus ou lus à un moment donné. Les preuves tirées de textes peuvent être essentielles dans les procès et sont souvent recherchées lors de la découverte. Cette preuve est également utile dans les litiges commerciaux ou contractuels entre entreprises, ou entre consommateurs et vendeurs en ligne.

Qu'est-ce qui est important lors de l'impression de messages texte?

Les normes d'acceptabilité varient d'un pays à l'autre. Par exemple, dans le Massachusetts, l’affichage d’un nom sur des messages texte ne suffit pas pour prouver leur validité sans « confirmation des circonstances » qui « permettraient à un enquêteur raisonnable de conclure que cette preuve est ce que son défenseur prétend être [.. .et que ...] ni l'expertise ni l'accès exclusif ne sont nécessaires pour authentifier la source ». En tant que tel, il est important de bien faire les choses.

La présentation sensée des messages sous forme de preuves suggère que vous devez vous assurer que vous disposez des éléments suivants:

  • Un enregistrement clair des heures et des dates dans un format non ambigu, avec des informations sur le fuseau horaire dans lequel les messages étaient affichés et si l’heure avancée affecte tout ou partie des horodatages
  • La date et l'heure ont été reçues et lues, le cas échéant (bien que de nombreux systèmes de messagerie ne conservent pas ces données, voir ci-dessous)
  • Représentations précises des pièces jointes et des caractères spéciaux, tels que emoji, dessins, emplacements et memoji
  • Des détails clairs sur l'expéditeur et / ou le destinataire du message, pas seulement un alias
  • Présenté de manière inviolable, difficile à altérer ou à simuler

Comment prouver qu'un message a été lu - ou reçu

Il peut être difficile de prouver qu'un message a été reçu, en fonction du système de messagerie utilisé. Les systèmes SMS n'ont pas été conçus pour suivre efficacement si un message a été remis ou non, et le mécanisme de «confirmation de lecture» repose sur la participation anticipée de l'expéditeur et du destinataire.

Certains réseaux implémentent leurs propres rapports de suivi de livraison. Par exemple, au Royaume-Uni, la plupart des réseaux permettent aux utilisateurs de confirmer la livraison des messages texte s'ils ajoutent *0# au début du message. Bien sûr, cela n'est pas utile si vous avez déjà envoyé le message, et il vous indiquera uniquement si le réseau a remis le message - ce qui n'est pas vraiment la même chose que le téléphone portable du destinataire. (Cette méthode entraînera l'envoi d'un message texte par l'expéditeur à son réseau, confirmant l'envoi de son texte.)

Voyant ces faiblesses sur le réseau SMS, Apple et Google ont tous deux construit leurs propres extensions pour le suivi des envois et des envois. Les applications tierces qui gèrent les messages - telles que WhatsApp et Facebook Messenger - ont également créé leurs propres mécanismes de suivi, que nous examinerons ci-dessous.

La plupart des systèmes utilisent le processus de messagerie en plusieurs étapes distinctes. Il est donc utile de regarder plus en détail quelles informations sont enregistrées et où. Par souci de concision, nous résumons certaines de ces étapes dans le résumé ci-dessous:

  1. L'expéditeur clique sur envoyer le message
  2. L'appareil de l'expéditeur transfère le message avec succès sur son réseau
  3. Le réseau de l'expéditeur le distribue avec succès à l'appareil du destinataire
  4. Le périphérique du destinataire enregistre le message et en avertit le destinataire.
  5. Le destinataire lit le message

Si vous avez accès aux données du destinataire, par exemple si vous êtes un agent de la force publique qui a exécuté un mandat pour sécuriser un appareil, vous pouvez alors obtenir des données indiquant si un message a été lu avec les astuces ci-dessous. Sinon, si vous avez uniquement accès aux données de l'expéditeur, les conditions suivantes s'appliquent:

Système Données envoyées Livré par réseau Lu par destinataire
SMS Oui Non Uniquement si les accusés sont demandés à l'avance par l'expéditeur, activés par le destinataire et que le message d'accusé de réception a été conservé.
iMessage Oui Non Si iMessage lit les accusés de réception activés par le destinataire
RCS / joyn via Android Messages Oui Oui Si activé par le destinataire

Options de conservation de l'historique des messages d'un téléphone

Examinons les meilleurs moyens de conserver les messages texte pour les utiliser comme preuves.

Utiliser des captures d'écran d'un téléphone

La méthode la plus simple consiste à prendre une capture d'écran ou une photo de votre appareil affichant les textes. C'est assez simple: sur un iPhone, maintenez enfoncé le bouton d'accueil et appuyez sur le bouton d'alimentation, ou sur un iPhone sans bouton d'accueil, maintenez «volume haut» et appuyez sur le bouton d'alimentation. Cette capture d'écran peut ensuite être imprimée ou envoyée par courrier électronique.

Les captures d'écran ne conviennent pas en tant que preuves solides. Ils ont beaucoup de problèmes:

  • Ils peuvent être facilement falsifiés. Une capture d'écran est juste une image: n'importe qui peut dessiner une image et y mettre du texte.
  • Il faudra peut-être de nombreuses captures d'écran pour afficher de manière adéquate un historique complet de la messagerie, et il est impossible de savoir s'il existe des écarts entre ces captures.
  • Les applications de messagerie n'affichent pas d'informations de fuseau horaire ou d' heure d' été
  • Les applications de messagerie ont tendance à masquer les dates. Votre téléphone peut indiquer qu'un message a été envoyé «hier». Ce n'est pas utile si vous l'imprimez et le montrez à quelqu'un une semaine plus tard!
  • Les applications de messagerie ont tendance à regrouper les messages. Si vous envoyez plusieurs iMessages ensemble, votre iPhone ne vous indiquera que la date d'envoi du premier.

À titre d’exemple, voici un fil de messages simple de capture d’écran provenant d’un iPhone:

A printable screenshot of messages on iOS
Une copie d'écran imprimable des messages sur iOS

Vous pouvez voir “Claudia” a répondu à un message. Mais de quel numéro a-t-elle répondu? Et quand a-t-elle répondu? Le message a-t-il été envoyé à 12h50 le samedi ou à 12h50? Est-ce l'heure d'été, l'heure locale ou l' heure UTC ? Cette capture d'écran ne répond à aucune de ces questions - cela ne soulève que d'autres questions.

Utiliser un téléphone ou une application de messagerie pour imprimer des messages directement

En plus d'être inefficace, il est étonnamment difficile d'imprimer des messages directement à partir de la plupart des téléphones. Par exemple, un iPhone ne peut pas le faire. Si vous associez votre iPhone à votre Mac via votre compte iCloud et que vous leur laissez la synchronisation des messages, vous pourrez voir l'historique de vos SMS et iMessage dans l'application Messages du Mac. Vous pouvez lire comment utiliser Messages ici, directement à partir d’Apple .

L'enregistrement de données à partir de l'application Messages est moins efficace que l'utilisation d'une capture d'écran d'un iPhone ou d'un iPad: tous les inconvénients des captures d'écran sont identiques.

Voici le même fil de question que ci-dessus, mais affiché sur l'application Messages d'un Mac cette fois-ci:

A printable screenshot of messages on macOS
Une capture d'écran imprimable des messages sur macOS

Ce rapport montre plusieurs des mêmes problèmes. 12h50 ou pm? Quel fuseau horaire? Quand Claudia a-t-elle répondu?

Les différents types de message ne sont pas indiqués. Par exemple, votre téléphone indiquera la différence entre SMS, MMS et iMessage en utilisant différentes couleurs, mais l'application Messages les affichera tous en gris et n'inclura pas toujours tous les messages SMS dans une conversation en texte.

L’impression de données à partir de Messages pose un autre problème: la date est indiquée par «29/12/2018». Si cette date était indiquée comme «5/12/2018», il ne serait pas possible de dire si c'était au format européen (5 décembre) ou américain (12 mai). La plupart des utilisateurs américains présumeraient que le message était sept mois plus vieux qu'il n'y paraissait. Le format à utiliser sans ambiguïté serait "2018-12-29".

Il y a un autre problème, plus évident. Mon message envoyé est accompagné d'un point d'exclamation rouge et de la mention «Non remis». Ce n'est évidemment pas le cas: après tout, Claudia a répondu. Mais c'est ce que nous disent les données de Messages. C'est complètement faux, cela serait très trompeur comme preuve et indique la vérité à ce que ni l'une ni l'autre méthode n'a montré: j'ai envoyé deux messages, dont le premier n'a pas pu être envoyé et le deuxième fonctionne. Sachant cela soulève plus de questions.

Imprimer des messages texte d'un fournisseur de réseau téléphonique

Certains réseaux mobiles fournissent des outils en ligne pour afficher l'historique des messages du côté du réseau, mais ils sont au mieux incomplets. Verizon propose un service « View Texts Messages » pour les abonnés américains, mais il ne contient qu'une petite quantité de données et n'a pas de pièces jointes, de contenu multimédia enrichi, de statut de suppression, de temps de lecture et présente les mêmes pièges: manquant et ambigu. Rendez-vous.

Verizon’s “View Text Messages” service
Service «Voir les messages texte» de Verizon

Le problème avec ces systèmes est qu’ils n’ont tout simplement pas les données à fournir. Ils envoient des messages SMS et, en tant que tels, ont des données de base à leur sujet, mais ils ne savent rien des messages iMessages, RCS (utilisés par les appareils Android modernes) et ne connaissent aucune donnée relative à l'appareil, telle que le temps de lecture ou le support technique. pièces jointes ou données incorporées. Ces services réseau ont souvent du mal à utiliser les caractères Unicode lorsque des langues autres que l'anglais sont utilisées.

Cela ne veut pas dire que ces données sont inutiles: il est une autre preuve de démontrer qu'un enregistrement complet et imprimé provenant d' une autre source est exact, et que l'application de la loi tend à obliger les fournisseurs à le fournir à cette fin.

Utilisation de l'iPhone Backup Extractor pour obtenir un rapport exact et exhaustif de messages texte

En 2008, j'ai perdu les données de mon téléphone et je devais les récupérer. Cela m’a amené à construire iPhone Backup Extractor, le standard de référence en matière de récupération de données sur iPhone.

Le logiciel iTunes d’Apple est gratuit pour tous les utilisateurs et peut être utilisé pour créer rapidement une archive sonore du contenu d’un iPhone. iPhone Backup Extractor peut alors, en un seul clic, générer un rapport parfaitement précis de l'historique des messages d'un iPhone ou d'un iPod. De plus, il prend en charge un large éventail d'applications de messagerie supplémentaires, telles que WhatsApp, permet de récupérer les messages supprimés mieux que les outils d'investigation spécialisés. Une version gratuite est également disponible pour générer des rapports à partir de threads contenant quatre messages ou moins.

iPhone Backup Extractor a été utilisé dans des procédures judiciaires et des litiges dans le monde entier. Le FBI? Procureurs de district? Centres de lutte contre la cybercriminalité et police d'élite anti-corruption? Ils ont tous obtenu une licence pour notre logiciel et nous avons même été approuvés par la reine d’Angleterre pour notre technologie.

Il est facile de sauvegarder l'historique de vos messages texte dans un format imprimable et portable avec iPhone Backup Extractor. Téléchargez et lancez-le. Ouvrez la boîte de dialogue "Préférences" et assurez-vous que le "Mode d'investigation" est coché. Il vous montrera un résumé du nombre de messages que vous avez dans chacune de vos applications de messagerie. Si vous cliquez ensuite sur l'icône de l'application de messagerie, iPhone Backup Extractor générera un fichier PDF de l'historique de vos messages - avec les messages supprimés inclus - dans un format clair et irréfutable.

Non seulement cela, mais notre équipe de support fera de son mieux pour vous aider tout au long du processus, et même sauter sur un partage d'écran avec vous pour vous guider tout au long de ce processus si vous êtes bloqué.

Comparaison des techniques d'impression de message texte

Voici un tableau comparatif pratique de nos méthodes d’impression de textes:

Avoir besoin Capture d'écran du téléphone Application Messages Réseau Extracteur de sauvegarde pour iPhone
Temps sans ambiguïté
Reçu et lu Si disponible
Pièces jointes, caractères spéciaux et non anglais
Effacer les coordonnées de l'expéditeur et du destinataire
Format inviolable Si obtenu avec mandat
Messages tiers (WhatsApp, etc.)
Portable, format PDF imprimable

Nous sommes également en mesure de fournir aux professionnels du droit des déclarations sur le processus utilisé pour récupérer et présenter les données, et pour vérifier de manière indépendante un enregistrement de messages, et nous l'avons fait à plusieurs reprises.

En savoir plus sur l'impression de messages texte et la loi

Comme nous l'avons souligné précédemment: Reincubate n'est pas un cabinet d'avocats et nous ne pouvons donner de conseils juridiques. Vous auriez besoin de voir un avocat pour cela. Il existe quelques ressources en ligne qui peuvent être très utiles pour cerner un peu de contexte et vous aider à poser les bonnes questions.

Si vous êtes en conflit, les deux parties doivent savoir que nettoyer un téléphone ou supprimer des textes avant une audience légale peut donner lieu à une accusation de crime aux États-Unis et causer des problèmes similaires au Royaume-Uni.

Si vous êtes bloqué ou avez besoin d'aide pour extraire et imprimer vos textes, veuillez contacter notre équipe d'assistance. Nous serons heureux d'aider.

About the author

Aidan Fitzpatrick founded Reincubate in 2008 after building the world's first iPhone data recovery tool, iPhone Backup Extractor. He's spoken at Google on entrepreneurship, and is a graduate of the Entrepreneurs' Organisation's Leadership Academy.

Reincubate's CEO at Buckingham Palace

Pictured above are members of Reincubate’s team meeting HM Queen Elizabeth Ⅱ at Buckingham Palace, after being awarded the UK’s highest business award for our work with Apple technology. Read our position on privacy, safety and security.

Can we improve this article?

We love hearing from users: why not drop us an email, leave a comment, or tweet @reincubate?

Comment pouvons nous aider?

Notre équipe de support est là pour vous aider!

Nos heures de travail sont du lundi au vendredi, 9 heures-17 heures UTC.

Notre objectif est de répondre à tous les messages en un jour ouvrable.

Entrer en contact › Notre superbe équipe de support

© 2008 - 2019 Reincubate Ltd. Tous droits réservés. Registered in England and Wales #5189175, VAT GB151788978. Reincubate® is a registered trademark. Confidentialité et modalités. Nous recommandons l'authentification multi-facteurs. Construit avec à Londres.

How to print text messages for use as evidence

Aidan Fitzpatrick

by Aidan Fitzpatrick

Updated

In the event of a dispute, insurance claim, trial or legal matter, it can be important to document or print text messages, to show that they were sent, received, or read at a particular time. Evidence from texts can be critical in trials, and is often sought during discovery. This evidence is equally handy in commercial or contractual disputes between businesses, or between consumers and online sellers.

What's important when printing text messages?

Standards of acceptability vary around the world. For example, in Massachusetts, displaying a name on text messages isn’t enough to prove their validity without “confirming circumstances” that would “allow a reasonable fact-finder to conclude that this evidence is what its proponent claims it to be [...and that...] neither expert testimony nor exclusive access is necessary to authenticate the source”. As such, it's important to get it right.

Common-sense presentation of messages as evidence suggests that you need to make sure you have the following:

  • A clear record of time and dates in an unambiguous format, with information on which timezone the messages were in, and whether daylight saving time affects some or all of the timestamps
  • The date and time was received and read, if available (although many messaging systems don't preserve this data, see below)
  • Accurate representations of attachments and special characters, such as emoji, drawings, locations and memoji
  • Clear details of the message's sender and or recipient(s), not just an alias
  • Presented in a tamper-proof way that is hard to alter or fake
  • You might need advice

    This article, and the techniques in it apply to anyone involved in a dispute or the arbitration of a dispute, whether they are a consumer in a dispute with a company, someone who feels like may be a victim of a crime, a lawyer or legal official, or even a mediator.

    We’re not lawyers — instead, we only make the world’s best tool for getting data from iPhones and iPads — and can’t give legal advice. Depending on which part of the world you’re in, the forum you plan to use the print-outs in, and potentially even the judge or arbitrator, the standards of admissibility may differ. Take advice where it's appropriate.

    How to prove a message was read — or received

    Proving whether a message was received can be difficult, depending on the messaging system being used. SMS systems weren’t designed for effectively tracking whether a message was delivered or not, and the “read receipt” mechanism relies on both the sender and the receiver opting in ahead of time.

    Some networks implement their own delivery tracking reporting. For instance, in the UK most networks let users confirm delivery of text messages if they add *0# to the start of the message. Of course, this isn’t helpful if you’ve already sent the message, and it will only tell you if the network has delivered the message — which isn’t actually the same thing as the recipient's cell phone successfully receiving it. (This method will result in the sender being sent a text message by their network confirming delivery of their text.)

    Seeing these weaknesses in the SMS network, both Apple and Google have built their own extensions to delivery and sending tracking. Third-party apps which handle message -- such as WhatsApp and Facebook Messenger — have also built their own tracking mechanisms, and we’ll look at these below.

    There are several distinct steps in the messaging process that most systems use, and it’s helpful to look in more detail at what information is recorded, and where. For brevity, we’re abbreviating some of these steps in the summary below:

    1. Sender clicks send on the message
    2. Sender’s device successfully transfers the message to their network
    3. Sender’s network successfully distributes it to the receiver's device
    4. Receiver’s device successfully store the message and alerts the receiver to it
    5. Receiver reads the message

    If you have access to the receiver’s data — for instance, you’re a law enforcement officer who has executed a warrant to secure a device — then it’s possible to get data on whether or not a message has been read with the tips below. Otherwise, if you only have access to the sender’s data, the following applies:

    System Sent data Delivered by network Read by recipient
    SMS Yes No Only if receipts requested ahead of time by sender, enabled by recipient, and the receipt message was kept
    iMessage Yes No If iMessage read receipts enabled by recipient
    RCS / joyn via Android Messages Yes Yes If enabled by recipient

    Options for preserving a phone’s message history

    Let’s take a look at the best ways to preserve text messages for use as proof.

    Using screenshots from a phone

    The simplest approach is to take a screenshot or photograph of your device displaying the texts. This is pretty simple: on an iPhone you’d hold down the home button and tap the power button, or on an iPhone without a home button you’d hold “volume up” and tap the power button. That screenshot can then be printed or emailed.

    Screenshots aren’t suitable as robust forms of evidence. They have many problems:

  • They can be easily faked. A screenshot is just a picture: anyone can draw a picture and put some text on it.
  • It may take many screenshots to adequately show a complete messaging history, and there’s no clarity as to whether there are gaps between those screenshots.
  • Messaging apps don’t show explicit timezone or daylight saving (DST) information.
  • Messaging apps tend to obscure dates. Your phone might say a message was sent “yesterday”. That’s not helpful if you print it out and show it to someone a week later!
  • Messaging apps tend to group messages together. If you send several iMessages close together, your iPhone will only show you when the first one was sent.
  • By way of example, here’s a screenshot simple message thread from an iPhone:

    A printable screenshot of messages on iOS
    A printable screenshot of messages on iOS

    You can see “Claudia” replied to a message. But what number did she reply from? And when did she reply? Was the message sent at 12:50 am on Saturday, or at 12:50 pm? Is that in daylight saving hours, in a local time zone, or is it in UTC? None of these questions are answered by that screenshot — it only raises more questions.

    Using a phone or messaging app to print messages directly

    As well as being ineffective, it’s surprisingly difficult to print messages directly from most phones. For instance, an iPhone can’t do it. If you pair your iPhone with your Mac through your iCloud account and let them sync messages, you’ll be able to see your SMS and iMessage history in the Mac’s Messages app. You can read how to use Messages here, directly from Apple.

    Saving data from the Messages app is less effective than using a screenshot from an iPhone or iPad: it has all of the same drawbacks that screenshots have — and more.

    Here’s the same question thread from above, but shown on a Mac’s Messages app this time:

    A printable screenshot of messages on macOS
    A printable screenshot of messages on macOS

    This report shows many of the same problems. 12:50 am or pm? Which timezone? When did Claudia reply?

    Different message types aren’t indicated. For instance, your phone will show the difference between SMS, MMS and iMessage by using different colours, but the Messages app will show them all as being grey, and won’t always include every SMS message in a text conversation.

    Printing data from Messages introduces another problem: the date is shown as “29/12/2018”. If that date was shown as “5/12/2018”, it wouldn’t be possible to tell whether it was in European format (5th December) or US (12th May). Most American users would assume the message was seven months older than it appeared to be. An unambiguous format to use would be "2018-12-29”.

    There’s another, more obvious problem. My sent message has a red exclamation mark and “Not delivered” written next to it. This is obviously not the case: after all, Claudia replied. But that’s what the Messages data tells us. It’s completely incorrect, would be highly misleading as evidence, and points to the real truth that neither method has shown: I sent two messages, the first of which failed to send, and the second of which works. Knowing this raises more questions.

    Print text messages from a phone network provider

    Some mobile networks provide online tools for viewing message histories from the network’s side, but these are incomplete, at best. Verizon have a “View Texts Messages” service for US subscribers, but it only includes a small amount of data, and doesn’t have attachments, rich media, deletion status, read time, and it has all the same pitfalls with missing and ambiguous dates.

    Verizon’s “View Text Messages” service
    Verizon’s “View Text Messages” service

    The problem with these systems is that they just don’t have the data to provide. They deliver SMS messages, and as such have basic data about them, but they know nothing about iMessages, RCS messages (which modern Android devices use), and they don’t know any device-related data, such as read times or support for attachments or embedded data. These network services often struggle with Unicode characters where non-English languages are used.

    That’s not to say that this data is useless: it’s another proof point to demonstrate that a complete, printed record from another source is accurate, and law enforcement tends to warrant providers to provide it for this purpose.

    Using iPhone Backup Extractor to get an accurate, forensic report of text messages

    Back in 2008, I lost my phone's data and needed to get it back. That led to me building iPhone Backup Extractor, which is the gold standard of recovering iPhone data.

    Apple’s iTunes software is free to all users, and it can be used to quickly create a forensically sound archive of an iPhone’s contents. iPhone Backup Extractor can then — with a single click — generate a fully accurate report of message histories from an iPhone or iPod. Not only that, but it supports a wide range of additional messaging apps, such as WhatsApp, can recover deleted messages better than specialist forensics tools, and has a free version available to generate reports from threads with four or fewer messages.

    iPhone Backup Extractor has been used in legal proceedings and disputes around the world. The FBI? District Attorneys? Cybercrime Centres and elite anti-corruption police? They’ve all licensed our software, and we’ve even been endorsed by the Queen of England for our technology.

    Saving your text message history in a portable, printable format is easy with iPhone Backup Extractor. Download and run it. Open the "Preferences" dialog and make sure "Forensics mode" is checked. It’ll show you a summary of the number of messages you have in each of your messaging apps. If you then click the messaging app’s icon, iPhone Backup Extractor will generate a PDF of your message histories — with deleted messages include — in a clear, incontrovertible format.

    Not only that, but our support team will do their best to help you through the process, and even jump on a screen-share with you to guide you through it if you get stuck.

    Comparison of text message printing techniques

    Here’s a handy comparison table of our approaches to printing texts:

    Need Phone screenshot Messages app Network iPhone Backup Extractor
    Unambiguous times
    Received & read times If available
    Attachments, special characters & non-English
    Clear sender & recipient details
    Tamper-proof format If obtained with warrant
    Third-party messages (WhatsApp, etc.)
    Portable, printable PDF format

    We’re also able to provide statements to legal professionals on the process used to recover and present the data, and to independently verify a record of messages, and we have done so on many occasions.

    Learning more about printing text messages and the law

    As we stressed earlier: Reincubate isn’t a law firm, and we can’t give legal advice. You’d need to see a lawyer for that. There are a few resources around online that can be quite helpful for picking up a bit of background and helping you ask the right questions, however.

    If you’re in a dispute, both parties should be aware that wiping a phone or deleting texts ahead of a legal hearing could lead to a felony charge in the US, and could cause similar trouble in the UK.

    If you get stuck or need assistance with extracting and printing your texts, please reach out to our support team. We’ll be happy to help.

    Submit a comment

    How can we help?

    Our support team are here to help!

    Our office hours are Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm GMT.

    We aim to reply to all messages within one working day.

    Contact support › Our awesome support team

    © 2008 - 2019 Reincubate Ltd. All rights reserved. Registered in England and Wales #5189175, VAT GB151788978. Reincubate® is a registered trademark. Privacy & terms. We recommend 2FA. Built with in London.